Top Ten Tuesday

top-ten-tuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is a meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. This week is the Top Ten Covers I Wish I Could Redesign.

Oh man there are SO many covers of books, both those I have read and those I have not read, that I would want to redesign the covers of. I was (still am to a certain extent) a huge judge a book by it’s cover kind of person, so covers that don’t appeal to me mean that that particular book will have a hard time making it to my shelf. However if a book has a great cover I’m more likely to pick it up and read it. So here are ten books that in my opinion need a cover makeover.

Bones of the Lost: This cover just doesn’t give much if any reason to pick up the book and read it in my opinion. Surely a better cover can be made.

Hideaway: This cover, as well as the contents of this book, need to be scarier. It’s supposed to be a horror! What’s so scary about an ambulance?

Mr. Penumbra’s 24-Hour Bookstore: This cover is a bit bland, just like the book itself.

The Pet: This one might have worked when the book was first published but it definitely needs a change or two.

Amazing Grace: Alright, technically this cover did get an update, but it doesn’t want stop me from wanting to change this one every time I see the old cover.

The Enchanted Truth: I’m not sure I can even call this one a cover.

The Assassin’s Curse: I really, really don’t like this cover. I just don’t. I really want to make it different, of course making the cover better will do little to help this book out.

The Awakening: This and every other book cover out there that has a young woman wearing a dress that’s blowing in the wind.

Kushiel’s Dart: Alright I admit it, I don’t like this cover. Love the book but the cover has always bothered me.

And last but not least.

Every cover out there that has the authors name in larger text than the title of the book. These all need to be changed, the title should stand out not the author (yes even Betty White’s book).

6 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday

  1. …Because an ambulance means someone’s hurt or dead? …nope, I got nothing.

    I always figured the Carey book had Phedre topless to show her tattoo… only you can hardly see it, so maybe not. It is a sort of odd design.

    • Ha ha. Maybe the cover designer was terrified of ambulances? Well see I kind of figured that was the purpose to the cover, showing off Phedre’s tattoo and yet compare it to the other book covers and the tattoo is more in the middle of her back, thus you wouldn’t really see it from the side as shown on the first cover. I think that’s the main thing that bothers me about the cover, the tattoo is too small and in the wrong spot.
      Thanks for stopping by. Have a great reading week.

Leave a Reply

