Top Ten Tuesday

top-ten-tuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is a meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. This week is the Top Ten Books I’d Recommend To X Person (your choice — could be to your mom, to a reluctant male reader, to your teenage sister, to dog lover’s, to sports lovers, etc.).

I’m not normally the kind of person to recommend books to others, at least not openly so. However if I am asked by something for book recommendations I will do my best to provide them with a list of books to read. Recently my mother asked me for book recommendations, which shocked me because she’s never been much of a reader. Of course the bigger shock was when I asked her what genres she likes and she had no clue what a genre was. So here is a list of the top ten books I recommended to my mother the non-reader.

  1. Murder, She Wrote series by Jessica Fletcher. I know my mom enjoyed this TV series and so the books seemed like a logical thing to recommend.
  2. Temperance Brennan series by Kathy Reichs. Because she likes mysteries, or at least she claims to.
  3. Let Love Find You by Johanna Lindsey. Honestly I just wanted this book off my shelf, so I forced it upon her. If I’m lucky she will love it.
  4. Mists of Avalon by Marion Zimmer Bradley. If she doesn’t love this book then I will disown her as a parent.
  5. Appaloosa by Robert B. Parker. I know she loves westerns so she should enjoy this one.
  6. The Thirteenth Tale by Diane Setterfield. Again because she likes mysteries but mostly because this book is amazing.
  7. Farewell, Dorothy Parker  by Ellen Meister. No idea if she will like this one but honestly she’s so picky I was grabbing at straws at this point.
  8. The Shining by Stephen King. Okay I was actually being a bit mean when I recommended this one to her. I wouldn’t tell my worst enemy to read this book.
  9. Misery by Stephen King. This one was a real suggestion. I know she liked the movie so the book should appeal to her.
  10. Captive Queen: A Novel of Eleanor of Aquitaine by Alison Weir. Not entirely sure if she will like it, but I thought she might.

I learned quickly that recommending books to my mother is a chore and I truly hope she doesn’t ask me for more recommendations in the future. What books would you recommend to someone and who would that person be?

11 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday

    • Yes, I figured variety was the best way to go with someone who isn’t sure what they would like to read or that have somewhat narrow likes. Give them lots of choose from and you’re bound to find one book they like.
      Thanks for stopping by. Have a great reading week.

    • I didn’t know until last year that it was a book series as well, since I never really set foot in the mystery section before then. There are current 39 books in the series with hopefully more to come, and you can read them all as stand alone novels so no need to go from beginning to end in the series. Misery was great, both book and movie wise, it’s the only Stephen King novel/movie I don’t hate ha ha.
      Thanks for stopping by. Have a great reading week.

  1. This, to me, is the hardest group to find books for. My sister-in-law is in this category. She bought herself a Kindle and now she is always asking me for book recommendations. But she hates to read!

    • Non-readers are incredibly hard to recommend for, especially when they don’t know what they like or have very, very specific likes and a large number of dislikes. Hopefully your sister-in-law will grow to love reading now that she has a Kindle and with the right book recommendations you might turn her into a reader.
      Thanks for stopping by. Have a great reading week.

    • Though it was a chore to find books she might like it was nice to see her finally interested in reading. That’s great that you got your mom reading after suggesting Divergent to her.
      Thanks for stopping by. Have a great reading week.

Leave a Reply

