Top Ten Tuesday

top-ten-tuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is a meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. This week is the Top Ten New-To-Me Authors I Read In 2013.

I have read so many books this year and a number of those authors were new to me. I found it hard to whittle this list down to just ten and there were a few authors I really wanted to add to this list though I initially started reading their books in 2012. So here they are, in no particular order because they are all amazing.

  1. Kendare Blake. The first two books I read this year were her Anna series and I absolutely devoured them. I cannot wait to read more of her books.
  2. Maggie Stiefvater. It started with The Scorpio Races which blew me away. Then I started in on The Raven Cycle series and I cannot wait to continue on with those books as well as the other books she has published.
  3. Diane Setterfield. I’ll admit I almost left her off the list because of her most recent book, Bellman & Black, but since The Thirteenth Tale was so amazing I decided to add her anyways.
  4. Kim Harrison. I might have never found this author had my best friend not recommended The Hollows series to me. I’m so glad she did because even though I have only read the first book in the series I cannot wait to get through the rest.
  5. Maria V. Snyder. I may have only read her Healer series so far (and I cannot wait for book three to come out) but I am in love with her writing style and have her Study series on my queue to start up.
  6. Sharon Lynn Fisher. She may only have one book published, Ghost Planet, but I loved that book so much I had to include her. I’m happy to see that she has another book coming out in April.
  7. Kenyon Morr. The author of the final two books in the Kingès Quest trilogy, Kenyon Morr has a way with words that makes a story flow so freely from the page..
  8. Chuck Wendig. I really enjoyed Under The Empyrean Sky, the first book in the Heartland series, and I cannot wait for the next book to come out. I also plan to checking out his other works as well.
  9. Laura Andersen. I really enjoyed The Boleyn King, the first in a trilogy, and just had to put her on the list. She has a great writing style and I cannot wait to see where her next book takes the story.
  10. Laini Taylor. How could not include her on this list? Daughter of Smoke & Bone was fantastic and I cannot wait for the series to continue.
4 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday

  1. I read Chuck Wendig’s blog though i haven’t read any of his books. On my list! Laini Taylor is incredible; I don’t love fantasy but I love how she blends it with a contemporary world.

    • He is definitely an author I would recommend picking up. I agree, Laini Taylor does an amazing job of blending fantasy and the contemporary world into a beautiful story.
      Thanks for stopping by. Have a great reading week.

    • It is a shame Bellman & Black wasn’t a better book, I’m not sure if it was all the hype surrounding her second book coming out or readers expecting it to be more like The Thirteenth Tale that led to all those lesser reviews.
      Thanks for stopping by. Have a great reading week.

Leave a Reply

