Book Review: The Story of Dr. Dolittle

My rating: 4 out of 5 stars

The Story of Dr. Dolittle is one of those books that I have always wanted to read and yet never made the time to do so. So when I saw the audiobook of this one I scooped it up and after a while made time to listen to it. I admit that having watched the Dr. Dolittle movie starring Eddie Murphy I thought I had some idea of what this story would be like. Well let me tell you I was completely wrong. If your only experience of Dr. Dolittle is that particular movie then you must read this book. For this is the true original story of Dr. Dolittle and is much better than the movie.

After getting over the initial shock that my knowledge of Dr. Dolittle was horribly off I settled in to listen and enjoy this book. The story is fairly quick paced but not so much that the reader/listener has a hard time keeping up. In fact I found overall the pace to be almost perfect. Events were happening at a steady pace that kept my attention and as the story progressed I found myself enjoying the story even more. Yes, I found the beginning to be a bit slow, but once it got past the part of establishing Dr. Dolittle’s character and a bit of his past it really became a good book.

I can’t go much into details about what I liked about the book without giving a good chunk of the storyline away. However I can say that I really liked the character of Dr. Dolittle. He was a hard worker, put animals over himself and others, and after many people helped him to leave on his journey made sure he returned so he could repay them as he had promised prior to his departure. Of course the collection of animals he brought along for the journey as well were a great little mix of characters and personalities and really helped move things along.

The narrator, David Case, did a wonderful job bringing this story to life. He gave unique voices to each character, most of which were animals. There were a couple of parts where the quality of the recording dropped but otherwise I found this audiobook to be very good.

Overall I really enjoyed this audiobook. The flow of the story, the narration, the characters all came together to provide a good and entertaining book. This is definitely a favorite amonf the classics I have read so far. I would highly recommend this book to anyone who has not read it yet, and especially to those who have only watched the Eddie Murphy movie of this story.

2 thoughts on “Book Review: The Story of Dr. Dolittle

Leave a Reply

