First Book of 2014

I haven’t always given a lot of thought about the first book I will read in the new year, usually I just walk over to my shelf pick up a book at random and start reading. Sometimes it works out well and other times I have abandoned that book and gone to look for something more appealing. This year however I am putting a bit more thought into my first read of the new year and so jumped at the chance to participate in this little event, which is hosted by Sheila from Book Journey.

It took me some time to finally settle on a book. I have a fairly large pile of books I want to read this month but I wanted to pick the right book to start the year off with. Eventually I narrowed it down to a few books to choose from and from there whittled it down to a single book.

Redemption is a book I have wanted to read for a few months now. I picked it up a few times last year but never made it past the first few pages, not because I wasn’t interested in it but because I had review books that stole my attention away from it. Now with the next book in this series coming out in February I need to read Redemption, as well as the next book Forsaken, to catch up on everything before reading the next book.

11 thoughts on “First Book of 2014

  1. I haven’t read this author yet, but have seen him around on other blogs. I hope it keeps your attention and you get your catch-up reading done, before you have to start on the review books. I have so many books on my TBR pile that I am not accepting many review books this year. I think I have two book tours coming in February. Anyway, Happy Reading in 2014.

    • I have loved every B.J. Daniels book that I have read so far and this book is no exception, really enjoying it and can’t wait to finish it. She is such an amazing author, I’d recommend checking her out if you have interest in romantic suspense with a western tie in to it. I’m the same way, my TBR is enormous, so I’m definitely limiting the number of review books I do this year until I knock out a bunch of my long awaited reads.
      Thanks for stopping by. Have a great reading week.

    • I’m really enjoying it so far, one of those hard to put down reads, just a shall I have so many things to do and distractions today outside of reading.
      Thanks for stopping by. Have a great reading week.

  2. This is a new author for me, but I’m never adverse to some cowboy romance! Catherine Anderson is one of my all time favourite Romance authors. 🙂 I hope this one is worth the wait.

    • B.J. Daniels is one of my favorite western romance writers. I have enjoyed all of her books so far, so I’d definitely recommend checking her out. I can’t say I’ve read anything by Catherine Anderson, might have to check out some of her books. I must say this one has definitely been worth the way, it’s been great from page one, can’t wait to finish it.

Leave a Reply

