Year End Report 2013

It’s the new year and now is the time to take a moment to look back on what my reading goals had been in 2013 and to see just how well I did with them. I know that several of my goals were not only reached but surpassed while others I didn’t exactly do so well with. First we will take a look at my  must-read list and my overall goals for 2013 to see how I did. I’m not gonna lie, I did pretty terrible when it comes to that first list.

Books I Will Read This Year No Matter What:

  • Lonesome Dove by Larry McMurtry
  • It by Stephen King
  • The Horse Whisperer by Nicolas Evans
  • Tales From Watership Down by Richard Adams
  • The Last Unicorn by Peter S. Beagle – read in February
  • Appaloosa by Robert B. Parker – read in May
  • Jurassic Park by Michael Crichton
  • Wolfblade by Jennifer Fallon
  • Prophecy: Child of Earth by Elizabeth Haydon
  • Jaina Proudmoore: Tides of War by Christie Golden – read in January

Overall Book Goals For 2013:

  • Finish reading series – finished some newer series but older series need to be worked on
  • Read books that have sat on my shelf for too long – read some but this is still a major work in progress
  • Reach and surpass my 2013 reading goal – completed in March
  • Read Kindle freebie books – didn’t even start this sadly
  • Go to the library – completed in March and have been several times since
  • Visit as many used book stores as I can – went to about eight or so over the year
  • Find more new authors to read – completed but also ongoing
  • Join a book club – joined in November, first meeting in December
  • Read more to my son – completed but also ongoing
  • Get my husband to read a book – completed in February

Now let’s have a quick look at all the individual read challenges I worked on this year and see how I did with them. Or in some cases how much I surpassed them by.

Challenge: GoodReads 2013 Reading Challenge
Progress:
135/50 books

Challenge: TBR Pile Reading Challenge
Progress:
17/10 books

Challenge: A to Z Reading Challenge
Progress:
26/26 books
Completed in September

Challenge: 2013 Dusty Bookshelf Challenge
Progress:
23/15 books

Challenge: 2013 Audio Book Challenge
Progress:
22/6 books

Challenge: Finish The Series Reading Challenge
Progress:
4/2 series

I have to say overall I’m happy with all the reading that I did and the challenges that I completed in 2013. I participated in as many read-a-thons as I could because I find I read better during those times. Obviously there are some areas that needed a bit more work, namely knocking out those must read books for the year, I shall just need to add those books my my reading for 2014.

Leave a Reply

