Book Review: Down Range

My rating: 4.5 out of 5 stars

The publisher provided me with a copy of this book to review via NetGalley.

I really enjoy reading Lindsay McKenna’s books. A few months back I was chatting with her via messages on GoodReads about some of the various books of hers that I have read, she mentioned a few of her upcoming releases including the Shadow Warriors series. I have to admit after hearing about them I knew I had to read them. Though I missed the first books release (and I do plan on going back to read it), when I saw Down Range available to review on NetGalley I just had to request it, and I was thrilled when I was approved for this book.

While the book doesn’t start with a bang, I was so intrigued by the two main characters that I kept reading. I wanted to know all about them, their pasts, their present and of course what their future held for them both individually and separately. Things quickly picked up in the story and I had a hard time putting this book down. The pace was fairly quick, but not so much that a reader would get lost, and I can’t think of a single slow part in this book. Even though there was a lot of back story given both on the characters and their families I found I was interested in all of it and wanted to know more and more as the story progressed.

There are a lot of great characters in this book, and I want to talk about all of them but that would make this review huge, so I will stick to the two main characters for the most part. I have to admit, I really liked Jake and Morgan’s characters. They have a past together and some of it isn’t all that pretty, but that is half of the appeal of this book. Though both are well-trained fighters, they have a good mix of strengths and weaknesses which play a key role in several of the events that unfold throughout the story. They also had their fair share of secrets which they kept from each other, thus making for some very interesting amounts of tension and conflicts as things progressed. I can’t say that I liked Morgan better than Jake or vice versa, they both were appealing main characters to have and I just loved their story.

Another great thing about this book was the action. Being on the hunt for a killer in Afghanistan certainly put them in a number of dangerous situations that pushed each character to their limits and beyond. Having to contend with not only dangerous killers but the Afghanistan deserts as well really put a bit of suspense in this book along with the action. It was these elements along with their romance, up and down as it was, and engaging storyline that truly made this book what it was, a great read.

There was one small thing that bothered me about this book, but I will refrain from talking about that as I feel it will ruin a certain twist in the book. I’m not sure if this part was simply something that I misread or perhaps misunderstood, but I will be going back and rereading that part, or perhaps the whole book, so I can see if it was me just missing something instead of an error in the book.

Overall I really enjoyed this book. It had great character, an engaging plot, was quick paced, action filled and one of those books that I didn’t want to put down until I was done. I will definitely be continuing on with this series, including going back and reading the first book. I would definitely recommend this book to those who love romance, but especially romance with a healthy dose of action and suspense mixed in.

Leave a Reply

