Book Review: The Troop

My rating: 2 out of 5 stars

The publisher provided me with a copy of this book to review via NetGalley.

When I first saw this book I was torn between wanting to read it and avoiding it at all costs. I love horror, I really do, but in my recent experience with horror books they just don’t have that scare quality that the movies do. So seeing that this book was classified as a horror I felt that I would likely be disappointed in the lack of horror. The other reason that I was worried about reading it was that not only written in the tradition of Stephen King but also the fact that Stephen King claimed that the book scared him. I should have known right then and there that there was no point in reading it, but I was hoping, truly hoping, that for once I could find a horror book that would actually scare me.

Sadly this book did not scare me. It started off slow and I felt that it never really picked up in pace either. There were a few parts of the book where the pace was more appealing, but even during those points the story just didn’t grip me. It is in my opinion that anything classified in horror should scare the reader/viewer, make them want to put the book down in fear of continuing it or because they need a break from the fear creeping throughout the pages. I wanted to put this book down because I was so bloody bored reading it.

The characters I felt no connection with, the “killer” of the story while fairly unique and interesting also felt insignificant, and the overall story just seemed to drag on. I feel like the book could have been about one hundred pages long, cut out a lot of the slow parts to give in a more appealing fast paced feel, but even then I’m not sure that shortening it would have made it all that much better. This book read like a Stephen King novel, lots of parts that just pulled the story along at a snails pace, interrupted by various reports of news articles that while did have an attachment to the main story, seemed to break up what little flow the story had. By the time the end came I just really didn’t care anymore.

Overall my initial thoughts on this book proved to be right. It was slow, it wasn’t scary and I just couldn’t wait to get to the end so it could be over with. While I’m sure that there are many people out there who will enjoy this book I just can’t bring myself to recommend it. I think this book has finally forced me to give up on reading horror novels because they are clearly a waste of time for me.

3 thoughts on “Book Review: The Troop

  1. I gave this book a three out of five when I reviewed it. I thought the book went more for the gross factor than the scare factor. I also thought the characters were a bit stereotypical, but I found it somewhat enjoyable nonetheless.

    • Well at least you enjoyed it more than I did. Even if it was going for the gross factor over the scare factor I didn’t get that grossed out feeling reading it. I think I’m just too desensitized to stuff like that for it to even register for me. Oh well, horror just isn’t appealing to be in book form. But I know people will enjoy it and find it scary so I suppose that’s a good thing.
      Thanks for stopping by. Have a great reading week.

Leave a Reply

