Book Review: Risk Taker

My rating: 3.5 out of 5 stars

The publisher provided me with a copy of this book to review via NetGalley.

Risk Taker is the third book in the Shadow Warriors series, however it can be read as a stand alone.

This book didn’t take off right away, in fact it took me a little bit to fully get into the story. I think one of the reasons for this is that only about a week before reading this book I ended up reading the previous book in the series, Down Range, and as much as I hate to admit it I was comparing these two books to each other from page two and expecting Risk Taker to be very similar to Down Range. The problem with doing this is that the books aren’t all that similar. Yes they are both in a military setting and involve two people falling in love within that hostile environment but that is where the similarities end. So while I was expecting, and hoping for, an action filled story like Down Range was, I instead got a more character driven story, which isn’t necessarily a bad thing.

As far as characters are concerned Sarah and Ethan were pretty good. I liked Ethan a bit more than Sarah, especially in the beginning, since his character was more open than Sarah’s was, but Sarah did grow on me a bit as the end was coming up and she had finally fully opened up with Ethan about her past and why she acts the way that she does. In a way I feel that because this book revolved more around these two characters and their development, both individually and as a couple, the lesser amount of action found within the pages suited everything quite well.

The book didn’t completely lack action though. There were a couple of really good sections where Sarah was flying into a hot zone with her helicopter and you got to see her in her true element and that’s when I started to like her character a bit more. Ethan was thrown into the action a bit more than Sarah was, but a lot of that stems from Sarah being forced off of flight duty for one reason or another.

Overall I felt this book was pretty good. It’s true that being compared to the action filled Down Range that I found it to be now as gripping of a story, however I still enjoyed it. I think this book will appeal to romance fans. I will definitely be continuing on with this series as it progresses to see what else comes up in future books.

Leave a Reply

