Book Review: Tagestraum

My rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Tagestraum is one of those books that I really wanted to read and yet wasn’t sure what I was getting myself into when I did start reading it. The description was intriguing and yet strange. How could this story turn out? Would I like it? So I dove in and I’ll admit initially I wasn’t drawn into it. But I had this feeling, that in a few pages/chapters things would get interesting. And boy did they ever.

The main character, Adrian, wasn’t anything special at first. Not that he wasn’t a good character, it’s just that he seemed like your average Joe, outside of the nightmares and a bit of his past. Yet it was this hidden darkness that helped to make him an appealing character well before his character truly came to his full potential, which occurred after he entered the world of Tagestraum. I think that Nathaniel was a very well portrayed character. There are a lot of authors that include children in their books but portray them poorly, always making them act and speak like adults even when they are young, yet T.L. Bodine did a great job of giving this character the right speech, mannerisms and other qualities that marked him correctly for his age. It was actually a relief to see a properly scripted child in a book.

However I have to say that the best character, in a way, was the world of Tagestraum. It was unique but with a familiar feeling as the reader is introduced to the world and it’s varied inhabitants. I loved the typical mix of fairy land creatures which were nearly nothing like their brethren. I’ll admit I was excited when I saw the unicorns and yet when a particular scene occurred shortly after they were introduced I was at first appalled. I wanted to yell at the book and say ‘No, you can’t do that to unicorns!’ but then the more I read about them and the other creatures dwelling within Tagestraum it all made sense. Unicorns, Fairies and the others should not follow the normal rules set for their species because Tagestraum was not normal. And it was here that my appreciation for this book grew even more.

I really wish I could go into deeper details about why I enjoyed this book, however I am not sure if I can do that without effectively giving away certain aspects of the story which should be experienced through reading it.

The flow of this book was very good, after the initial slow part. The writing style was appealing to read and the pages really flew by as things progress further with the characters and Tagestraum doing what it does best. The characters really stood out as unique little facets of the story which pulled things along well and made everything feel like a well oiled machine. I would definitely recommend this book to people who enjoy Fantasy. I really enjoyed this book and look forward to reading more works by this author in the future.

Leave a Reply

