Book Review: Atonement

My rating: 3.5 out of 5 stars

The publisher provided me with a copy of this book to review via NetGalley.

Atonement is the fourth book in the Beartooth, Montana series.

I have to admit, I was really looking forward to this book. This series is one of my favorites and I have loved each and every book. So when I had the chance to review Atonement I jumped at the chance and was excited to be approved to receive a copy. I was looking forward to seeing what would happen next to the characters and town that make this series so appealing.

In the previous books I was instantly pulled into the story, immediately feeling the suspense oozing from the pages. Though there was a small amount of suspense right from page one I must say that it paled in comparison to the other books in this series. I wasn’t too worried about this lack of suspense though, not all books start with a bang, so I kept on reading knowing it would get better.

The main characters Dillon and Tessa didn’t really stand out to me. They were thrust together in an awkward moment of misunderstanding and distrust. While I’m glad they didn’t instantly fall in love, though granted how and why they met I would have been appalled if that had have happened, I didn’t really feel any sort of connection to either of these characters. Even as the story progressed they didn’t feel right to me. Tessa is far too stubborn, and in my opinion stupid at times, for me to really like. I understand her need to find the truth but holy hell woman, you’re pregnant, stop running into dangerous situations at every turn! Dillon was a better character, though not by a lot. He had good work ethic, which given his job as Sheriff that only makes sense, but he also had fairly good common sense and a strong sense of duty and protection when it comes to family.

The secondary character, who have been recurring throughout this series, were really what helped bring the story to it’s potential for me. I enjoy the various side stories, since having all the focus on the main characters would have made this book dull, though I admit there were a few moments of these side stories that felt not as well put together than others. There were a couple of events that have started and should prove interesting as this series progresses into the next book and beyond.

The flow of this book was fairly solid, though admittedly not as smooth as the previous books. The romance aspect of the story was almost non-existent. Not that I mind this, honestly in books like this I generally prefer the romance to take a back seat to the suspense. However in Atonement I found that even the suspense seemed to be missing. It was there, in small doses, but not in the page turning, must find out what is happening next sort of way I have come to expect out of this series and author.

Overall this book was okay, borderline good. While the flow wasn’t as smooth as I was hoping for, I still found myself quickly burning through the pages. While the main characters and story line didn’t grab me, I was glad for the secondary characters and stories to propel things through to the end and add little enticing tidbits that will play a bit role in the next book as well as solidified my need to continue on with the series. Though very light on the romance and suspense this book will likely appeal to people who enjoy books which combine these two genres. I am looking forward to the next book and hoping that it will return to the quality that I have come to expect out of this series.

Leave a Reply

