Book Review: Dhampir

My rating: 4 out of 5 stars

I first read Dhampir back in 2003, shortly after it was first released. I had stumbled upon it while in a book store and knew I wanted to read it as soon as I saw it. I remember enjoying it quite a bit and over the years bought and read several other books in the series. However at one point I stopped reading the books, likely in the gap between books, and then when I finally decided to get back into reading the series a few years later I couldn’t remember where I had left off. I had all the books yet had no idea which one I read last. So I did the most logical thing, I started reading the series over again.

Because it had been eleven years since I last read Dhampir it was like reading it for the first time again. I had forgotten nearly every detail about the story with the exception of who and what the main characters were. And of course I also knew somewhat of what would happen in the story from reading the synopsis. However outside of that this was like reading a brand new book.

I quite enjoyed the intro. I’m not normally a fan of books with prologues, and really in this case (like many others) it could have simply been the first chapter, but it did give a nice little introduction to a small slice of the world that the book was set in, a few of the characters and set things up to continue with the rest of the story. It is after this prologue that we truly get to see the main characters and learn a bit more about them, and this continues throughout the book, small tidbits of information are give about Lessil and Magiere, some are more pleasant that others.

As far as characters go Magiere and Leesil are an interesting pair. They are certainly not your typical protagonists, and they were far from heroes until closer to the end of the story. While the two couldn’t be more different from each other it is this difference that lends to them working so well together, each filling the gap of the others weakness to help make them a well oiled machine. However one thing I didn’t care for, both the first time I read this book and this second time, is how both Magiere and Leesil have dark pasts. It’s fine to have one character to have some unpleasantness in this life but to have both main character with that trait seemed a little overkill. And then there is Chap, the dog who is so much more than a normal dog. His character has a minor role in this book but even so he does help out from time to time.

The flow of the story was fairly solid, though I must admit that the writing style isn’t perfect. There are a number of times when a few sentences of even paragraphs seem to be worded in very odd ways and I had to go back and reread these sections to make sure I fully understood what the authors were trying to say. The pace of the story was quite good, with very few slow moments and those sections tended to be quite small but also gave out bits of information or introduced a new character that would prove to be important later on.

Overall I enjoyed this book quite a bit. It wasn’t perfect but that didn’t matter to me, it was still a good read and I was glad I went back to revisit this story. I think fans of fantasy will enjoy this one and even those who have an aversion to vampire books could find this to be an entertaining read. I will definitely be continuing on with this series so that I can revisit the rest of it and see what new things lie in store as I come to the books that I have not yet read.

2 thoughts on “Book Review: Dhampir

Leave a Reply

