Book Review: A Fistful of Charms

My rating: 4.5 out of 5 stars

I am loving this series more and more with each book that I read. This book, like the previous ones, sucked me into the story very quickly and didn’t let me go at all. I can definitely see why there are so many people enjoying this series because it honestly gets better with each book. The characters are stronger, the plot line more interesting, the twists more shocking and there really isn’t anything to not like.

Let’s talk characters for a moment. First off, I am so bloody glad that Jenks is back. I severely missed him in the previous book and so of course seeing his return made me all kinds of happy. But what happened to his character along the way was horribly entertaining and I found myself laughing almost constantly when he was present. Jenks is still my favorite character from this series. Ivy remains to be a great character as well. She has grown some since the last few books but I have always enjoyed her character. Rachel’s character has definitely made a lot of progress since the first book. She has grown in leaps and bounds, she has become more appealing, has stopped making so many mistakes and overall is becoming a better character with each book.

One character I did miss in this book was Algaliarept. While he was mentioned a few times he wasn’t actually in the book, though I know he is not out of the overall story line, there is still much to be done with his character and his ties to several characters within the series. Nick being back was both a good and bad thing. His actions really didn’t surprise me all that much, but there were a few moments involving him that caught me off guard.

The flow of this story was really solid. Right from the beginning all the way to the very end I was thoroughly absorbed into the story, the characters and everything else. I found myself guessing what would happen next and enjoying the little twists and turns along the way. The writing style is also very solid and, much like the characters and the overall story line, it too has improved since the first book.

Overall I thoroughly enjoyed this book. This series has quickly become one of my favorites and I cannot wait to continue on with it. I would definitely recommend this series to anyone who hasn’t read it yet, just remember that it gets better with each book, so don’t judge it solely by the first book.

Leave a Reply

