Book Review: Roll of The Die

My rating: 2 out of 5 stars

The author provided me with a copy of this audio book in exchange for an honest review.

Warning: If profanity offends you in any way then this book is not for you. It starts off with profanity right from page one and continues throughout the book in large volumes.

I wasn’t entirely sure what to expect out of this book. After reading the synopsis I thought it perhaps had potential to be good, however I also felt even then that it would fall short. I found this book read more like a screen play than a novel, the way it was going “Joey did this. Riley did that. Joey then did this. Riley replied with that.” There were parts that were written more like a novel, but it was this mixed writing that made it unpleasant. Plus it also jumped back and fourth between first and third person and it was hard to tell what was happening during these transitions, and through the bulk of the book.

Didn’t have any sort of connection with any of the characters. Sure there was a decent mix of them but really they just seemed to be there, nothing special about it. The story didn’t have good continuity to it either. The flow of the story was choppy at best. There were times where I wasn’t sure who was the current focus of that section. The story was disappointing. It was far too predictable in my opinion, as I called the order in which the men died well ahead of time, and very quickly correctly guessed how things would turn out for the main character Riley.

The narrator did nothing to make the book any better. I’m not sure if it was just his voice, the story he was reading, or something else but I felt pretty bored listening to this audio book. He did do a decent enough job giving each character their own unique voice but that seemed to be his only strong point.

I wasn’t bothered by the profanity, and from what I could tell it seemed to suit the story, but at the same time I felt it was a bit overdone, as it was a constant presence in this book. Honestly I feel as though I might have liked this book just a little bit more if I didn’t have to listen to a constant string of profanity from start to finish.

Overall this book was not very good. I feel it could have been much better giving better writing, less profanity and more appealing characters. I honestly wouldn’t recommend this book to others, at least not in it’s current state, if it was revamped and given a face lift to improve the qualities that make it fall short then perhaps I would recommend this to someone.

2 thoughts on “Book Review: Roll of The Die

    • Characters really can make or break a story. Even a mediocre story can be vastly improved by great characters. And bad characters can destroy even great stories.
      Thanks for stopping by. Have a great reading week.

Leave a Reply

