Top Ten Tuesday

top-ten-tuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is a meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. This week is the Top Ten Books I Almost Put Down But Didn’t.

Sometimes I want to put a book down, and sometimes I do. But there are times when I think about putting a book down and end up not doing that, that leads to either me struggling to finish the book or reaching that point where the book becomes better and makes it worth finish it. Here are some books that I considered putting down but for one reason or another didn’t.

  1. Jaws by Peter Benchley. I thought about putting this one down when I realized the movie was better, but I stuck with it. I wasn’t impressed with it, but at least I can say I read the book.
  2. Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone by J.K. Rowling. I watched the movie a few years ago, decided to check out the book which inspired it, but you know I just couldn’t get into it. Took me forever to get through this and nearly put it down several times but stuck with it. I don’t know if I will pick up the rest of the series or not.
  3. Ender’s Game by Orson Scott Card. I wanted to put this book down so badly throughout the whole book I really am surprised that I didn’t. I slogged through this book and honestly I wish I had have put it down because this book was horrible and I feel like I wasted my time with it.
  4. The Troop by Nick Cutter. This is one of the books that made me decide to give up on the horror genre, it was dull and way too drawn out. Yes I finished it after almost putting it down several times, I wish I hadn’t.
  5. The Chrysalids by John Wyndham. This book wasn’t horrible, it was okay, but there were times when the story seemed so strange that I thought about putting it down because I clearly wasn’t understanding the story as a whole.
  6. The Returned by Jason Mott. This one was too boring and predictable, which is why I thought about putting this one down, and in fact I did for a short time, but I forced myself to finish it.
  7. The Companions by R.A. Salvatore. There is nothing good about this book. I actually did set it down a number of times, considered permanently setting it down too many times to count, though I finished it I really wish I hadn’t. The book was too boring and drawn out that I felt nothing happened and knowing nothing about the Dungeons and Dragons world didn’t help either.
  8. Blood of the King by Bruce Blake. It felt too typical of a fantasy novel, which is why I considered putting it down. I didn’t but overall this was simply a mediocre book.
  9. Etiquette & Espionage by Gail Carriger. While this book was okay in the end I felt a little lost in it, I think steampunk just isn’t my thing, and therefore it made me consider putting it down. While I likely won’t read the rest of the series I am glad I at least stuck with this one to see what it was about.
  10. Stephen King Novels. It’s not that I’m scared reading these books, but more bored out of my skull and that is why every time I read one of his novels I struggle with keeping with it and consider more than once during that time about putting it down.
  11. Thrall: Twilight of the Aspects by Christie Golden. I normally enjoyed the World of Warcraft novels but this one was almost agonizing to get through.
7 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday

    • I tried to like it, but I just couldn’t. I know I’m one of very few people who didn’t like it, but so goes the way of reading a very popular novel.
      Thanks for stopping by. Have a great reading week.

    • I really wanted to like that book, it sounded so good, and you know it was enjoyable to a point, but it just wasn’t great to me. Steampunk just isn’t my thing, also didn’t help it had werewolves in it either.
      Thanks for stopping by. Have a great reading week.

Leave a Reply

