Armchair BEA Introduction & Literature

This week I am participating in Armchair BEA, which is the virtual version of Book Expo America for those who cannot attend the conference in New York. This is my second time joining Armchair BEA and I am looking forward to being a part of it again. Each day there will be a particular theme and each of my posts will be according to that days theme, so be sure to stop by as the week progresses to check everything out. Today is where all of the participants introduce themselves, and to do that we were asked to answer five of the ten questions provided so we can all learn a bit about each other. Here are my answers. We will also be discussing Literature and what it means to us today as part of the daily genre discussion.

Introduction

Please tell us a little bit about yourself: Who are you? How long have you been blogging? Why did you get into blogging?

Hello, my name is Sarah and I live in a small town on the north shore of Lake Superior in Ontario Canada. I am a stay-at-home mom of one. I started blogging back in July 2011 on another blog, mostly it was a place for me to talk about writing, video games and anything else that came to mind. I started posting odd book reviews there in May 2012 then in September I decided to start a new blog and devote it books and thus this blog was created. The original reason I got into blogging was just to have a place to write things and share some of my thoughts with whoever stopped by to read it. As for this blog I’ve always loved books but came from a non-reading family so really had no one to share my thoughts on books with, so when I discovered the book blogging community I knew I had found a great place for just that. Now I have this place to share my thoughts on books and get a chance to see what others say about the book world.

Describe your blog in just one sentence. Then, list your social details — Twitter, Facebook, Instagram, etc. — so we can connect more online.

Reading books from every genres because you never know where you will find that next great book at.

Social media sites:

What is your favorite blogging resource?

There are so many amazing resources out there for bloggers and it can often take some time to find all of them. Heck I know that I am still finding new resources on a regular basis even after two years of blogging. Though if I had to pick my favorite blogging resource I would have to pick other bloggers. If it wasn’t for other bloggers I likely wouldn’t have come across all of the blogging resources that I have so far. Because other bloggers often discuss what resources they use and the pros/cons of each of them they are by far the best and likely easiest way for a blogger to find new blogging resources.

If you were stranded on a deserted island, what 3 books would you bring? Why? What 3 non-book items would you bring? Why?

The three books I would bring are:

  • Green Rider by Kristen Britain. Because I love this book and I could read it again and again.
  • The Scorpio Races by Maggie Stiefvater. Because this is a fantastic book and a complete story so I wouldn’t be stressing out because I didn’t have the next book in the series with me.
  • It by Stephen King. Because I will need fire starter, toilet paper and with it being so thick and heavy it could be used as a weapon as well.

The three non-book things I would bring are:

  • My husband. Because he has the survival skills I would need.
  • A Swiss Army Knife. Because those things are bloody handy.
  • Sunglasses. To keep my eyes protected.

What book would you love to see as a movie?

This is probably the easiest question to answer. Though there are a lot of books that I have read recently that I would love to see turned into a movie there is one in particular that I would pick among them, and that book is The Scorpio Races by Maggie Stiefvater. I think this book would make a fantastic movie. I also wouldn’t mind seeing some sort of sequel or spin-off novel to this as well.

Literature Discussion

What do you think of when you think of literature? Classics, contemporary, genre, or something else entirely? We are leaving this one up to you to come up with and share the literature that you want to chat about the most. Feel free to share a list of your favorites, break down your favorite genre, feature your favorite authors, and be creative about all things literature in general.

I generally look at the term literature as one of two things. The first is a more broad spectrum of the term in where literature means anything that has been written in book form. So this could include poetry, classics, novels, non-fiction, etc, and it covers a wide range of genres as well. The second way I often define literature is with the classics. I’m not a fan of the classics however I have always looked upon them as being the overall definition of what literature is. So there you have it, my two definitions of what I think of when I think of literature.

23 thoughts on “Armchair BEA Introduction & Literature

    • Gotta love a book that has more than one purpose behind it. And hey if I get insomnia while on that island I’ll just read It, that will put me to sleep in no time.
      Thanks for stopping by. Have a great reading week.

    • Yes, the meaning of literature does seem to be making a bit of a shift away from the classics. Ha ha, hooray for husband who will keep us alive when needed.
      Thanks for stopping by. Have a great reading week.

    • Hooray for being an Ontarian! I would definitely recommend The Scorpio Races, it’s a fantastic book, I can’t say enough good things about that book. However, when it comes to It, I can’t really say anything good about it.
      Thanks for stopping by. Have a great reading week.

    • Multi-purpose books are the best way to survive being stranded on a deserted island. It’s really the only good use of that book I can think of honestly. Hooray for another Canadian blogger.
      Thanks for stopping by. Have a great reading week.

  1. Although my family enjoys reading, they’re not as passionate about it as I am which is why the blogging community has been an absolute pleasure to be part of! ‘It’ has always terrified me so I completely approve of your use for it! I still haven’t read anything by Stiefvater, I should probably get onto that immediately! I like both of your literature definitions, although I tend to agree more with the second for which my current English degree might be slightly to blame!
    I’m sure I’ll stop by again during BEA!
    My BEA Intro
    Juli @ Universe in Words

    • Book bloggers are great and certainly help when you have a non-reading family/friend base. I was never terrified by ‘It’, bored to tears yes, but never once felt terrified with that book, but I’m fairly immune to horror stuff so that’s likely why. I would definitely recommend you picking up some Stiefvater books, my favorite is by far The Scorpio Races, though I have been enjoying The Raven Cycle series as well.Thanks for stopping by. Have a great reading week.

  2. Thank you for sharing about The Scorpio Races! Not sure how that one escaped my notice but does look interesting!

    Heheh, loving your third desert island book choice. Not much a fan of “It” by S. King? 🙂

  3. I’m curious, how did you get into reading if your family didn’t read? I started reading because my mom started reading to me when I was younger and I’ve never stopped reading since 🙂 Even though my family reads, we read very different things, so I also blog to find fellow book lovers to chat with. It’s such a great community 🙂

    • Ah, that is a great question. My parents did read to me when I was younger, mostly to help me learn to read, and then once I was proficient enough at it that they didn’t need to be there to help me I was left to choose whether I wanted to keep reading for fun or not. I kept up with reading because I truly enjoyed getting to visit all those wonderful places that could be found within the pages of books, but I also read as an escape from things going on in my life as well. When things got rough as a kid I turned to books as a distraction and to make myself feel happy. Now I tend to read for the pure joy of it, though every now and then I read just to escape when life gets too hectic and I need a break.
      Thanks for stopping by. Have a great reading week.

  4. Nice to meet you Sarah, I’m in Hamilton Ontario! 🙂
    I couldn’t help but laugh when I read your book choices. Not for what you chose but how you described why.

Leave a Reply

