Book Review: Cherokee Talisman

My rating: 4 out of 5 stars

The author provided me with a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.

I have a small confession to make before I get to the review. When I was first contacted about reading and reviewing this book I saw the email mentioning a historical fiction novel for review. That instantly caught my attention since I enjoy reading historical fiction. But then I noticed that it was not set in England, did not involve the Tudors or any of the other historical people that make me want to instantly read books and so I almost turned down the chance to read this book. However, after kicking myself for being so narrow minded, after all half the reason I started this blog was to expand my reading, I decided to give it a try. Why should I only read historical fiction books that cover one small percentage of historical acts and people? So I made the decision to read this book and let me tell you I am glad that I did.

I wasn’t instantly drawn into this story. In fact it took me about a quarter of the book to really get into the story and the characters lives. The reason it took so long is partially because so many characters were introduced at the beginning I had a hard time keeping track of who was who, who was on what side, who didn’t want changes, who was related to who and so on. This applied more to the native characters than anything else, but even some of the other characters were hard to remember what their role in everything was. Eventually though I did manage to get most of the main characters sorted out and after this happened I found the story to be a lot more appealing.

The flow of this story was very solid, especially once I get the characters sorted out. There was also something happening and so I found that the pages tended to go by fairly quickly. It is clear through the writing as well as the story itself that the author put a great deal of time doing the necessary research to bring this book to life as accurately as possible.  It is a very powerful story that really has stuck with me since I read it a few months back. The further into the story I got the more it felt like I was there watching the events happening instead of reading them because the writing was so well put together.

Though I had been fairly hesitant to read this book in the beginning I must say that I am truly glad that I made the right decision and chose to read this. I feel that this book has helped me want to expand my reading of historical fiction as a whole but also has opened up my eyes to a chunk of history I previously knew nothing about. Really the only negative thing I can say, is what I mentioned above, is that too many characters thrown at the reader within the first few chapters can make the story overwhelming because each time you see a characters name you are trying to remember who that person is, or if they are a new character and that often leads to missing something important that can play a major part of the story later on.

I would definitely recommend this book to those who enjoy historical fiction, and even if this particular part of history isn’t normally what you would read about I would encourage you to do so. I am looking forward to reading more books by this author in the future.

2 thoughts on “Book Review: Cherokee Talisman

    • A few years ago I would have never read it because I was so closed-minded about the books I read. It’s definitely nice to read outside of ones comfort zone now and then because you never know what books may surprise you.
      Thanks for stopping by. Have a great reading week.

Leave a Reply

