Book Review: Wedding At Cardwell Ranch

My rating: 2.5 out of 5 stars

The publisher provided me with a copy of this book to review via NetGalley.

Wedding At Cardwell Ranch is the second book in the Cardwell Cousins series, which is a sort of extension or spinoff to the Cardwell Ranch series. However you do not need to have read the Cardwell Ranch series prior to reading this series.

Normally, when I’ve read any of the books in these two series I am quickly drawn in within the first couple of pages. There is always a strong sense of suspense and I just need to keep reading to find out what will happen. However, in the case of this book, I didn’t get that initial pull. There wasn’t that instant dose of suspense that I have come to expect out of these books and because of that I was a big disappointed. The book started off okay but lacked that interest to get me excited about reading more.

The characters were fairly typical for these kind of books. You have the weaker female character and the strong, protective male character. So as far as the main characters, Jackson and Allie, there really wasn’t much special about either of them. The rest of the characters were alright. There were a number of recurring character from the previous book and series however their roles were fairly small. Allie’s in-laws were a slightly bigger part to the story and they did help to add a little interest to things.

I hate to say it but really the only thing that kept me reading this book was the things that were happening to Allie and driving her slightly crazy. If it hadn’t been for that I would have definitely struggled to actually finish this book. Each event that Allie had to deal with obviously dealt a blow to her character’s confidence and she often questions if those things were real and if she was going crazy. I think I would have liked to have seen more of this and to actually see a much bigger effect on her. After all, that was supposed to be essentially the driving force behind this story but it felt a bit flat at times.

Overall the book was okay at best. For a romantic suspense novel I feel that the suspense aspect of this book was severely lacking. Add to this the fact that these books are starting to feel repetitive and it makes for a less than interesting read. Would I recommend this book? Maybe, I’m sure some people would enjoy it. Will I continue with the series? Maybe, though if they continue to be like this book I likely won’t.

 

Leave a Reply

