Book Review: The Outlaw Demon Wails

My rating: 3 out of 5 stars

So I’ll admit, I had somewhat been avoiding this book for a while now. Don’t get me wrong, I really love this series and have been dying to continue it but it was seeing reviews on this book, particularly about the audio book, that had me avoiding it for as long as I could. This is the first and only book in the series that is not narrated by Marguerite Gavin and every review I saw says that the new narrator, Gigi Bermingham, essentially ruins the book. I have no idea why this book has a different narrator and I’ll admit I don’t like the idea of it even without the influence of those reviews. But finally I got to the point where I just wanted to get it done and over with so I can keep going with the series and catch up on the many books that remain unread. So I bit the bullet, bad reviews be damned and decided I’d give it a shot, I would find out for myself if a different narrator made this book bad or not.

I hate to say it, but almost instantly I regretted it. The voices were all wrong, hell Jenks sounded like a little girl. It was hard to keep my attention on the actual story when the narrator was wrong and the characters voices were also wrong. Another annoyance was the fact that she pronounced things differently and it made me double take every time I heard her say certain names, like Piscary. Can I also mention that the added bits of music now and then were completely unnecessary, proving to be yet another distraction to the story.

If I ignored the horrible narrator, I admit that I enjoyed this book quite a bit. I’m not sure if I liked it as much as some of the previous books, but it’s hard to fully get around the narrator and what she does to the story. I think it does a very good job of tying up a few loose ends that I’ve been eager waiting for. Of course it also opens up a new set of questions. There are some things in this book that I wasn’t expecting. I won’t go into details of what those are so as to not spoil it for anyone who hadn’t read these books yet, but some were pretty surprising.

Now I don’t know if it was the narrator or the book itself, but for at least half the book Ivy and Rachel’s interaction seemed off. I understand that some things had happened to them recently that would put a bit of a strain on their relationship, but their conversations seemed forced and awkward even taking those things into account. Now this did change and get better closer to the end of the book but for that part where it was off I didn’t enjoy it all that much.

Overall I have to say the book isn’t too bad. I can’t truly judge it thought because my experience was sullied by the new narrator. I think that if I had have read this book instead of listening to it I certainly would have enjoyed it more. I am looking forward to continuing on with the series and I am happy to report that all of the remaining books are narrator by the original narrator, Marguerite Gavin, so I know they will be enjoyable to listen to.

Leave a Reply

