Book Review: Star Wars Jedi Academy

My rating: 3 out of 5 stars

So about a year ago I saw this book at the book store. I thought, hey I enjoyed the short little picture books, Darth Vader and Son & Vader’s Little Princess, so surely I will like this one as well. Now while I didn’t buy the book at that time I did purchase it a few months later for my son as part of him monthly book order. It wasn’t until recently that I got around to reading this book with him.

The book was okay. I can’t even say that it was good and really saying that a Star Wars book was simply okay is hard for me. I love Star Wars and have only found a small number of books amid the hundreds out there that just didn’t impress me. I think the biggest problem I had with it is the similarities to the Star Wars movies. Farm boy from Tatooine gets to go to Jedi Academy but goes later than most kids would have and struggles to learn the ways of the Jedi and yet is clearly one of the most skills students there. Yup that sounds an awful lot like some other kid from Tatooine getting a late chance at becoming a Jedi.

While I understand this is written to appeal to kids even my son didn’t care for the book. When I asked him what he thought about it when we were done reading it he said “Eh, I didn’t really like it.” So that’s two big Star Wars fans that didn’t enjoy this book.

The other thing that stood out to me about this book is that some of the stuff that happens in it I just don’t see happening or being allowed to happen repeatedly if they were truly at the Jedi Academy. The one specific thing that comes to mind is the bullying from Cronah & Cyrus. Yeah pretty sure Yoda or any of the other teachers would have be aware of that and stopped it right away. Bullies do not belong in the Jedi academy.

I’m sure there are people who will enjoy this book but to me it felt more like reading an awkward Star Wars fanfic where the author didn’t quite know what they wanted to do with the story and was winging it for most of the book. Sorry Jeffrey Brown, but this one just wasn’t your greatest book.

Leave a Reply

