Book Review: The Boleyn Deceit

My rating: 5 out of 5 stars

About a year ago I read The Boleyn King and fell in love with this alternate history book and series. I wanted to read the next book, this one, right away but at the same time I didn’t want to have to wait almost another year before getting to reading the third and final book in the trilogy. So I had a decision to make and it wasn’t easy. I finally decided that I would wait until the third book was out before reading the second book so that I could finish the trilogy all in one go. It was very hard to wait that long but I am glad I did wait.

Like the first book I was quickly sucked into The Boleyn Deceit. The writing style is very appealing to read and the flow of the events within the story made me not want to put the book down. I found that this isn’t a book you can rush through though. There is a lot going on, and so you need to take your time reading it to ensure that you don’t miss a detail that will prove important later on in the book. This was definitely a fantastic continuation of the story of Henry VIII and Anne Boleyn’s son.

I loved seeing the echo of Henry VIII and Anne Boleyn in both William and Elizabeth. It’s obvious that their parents still influence them well after they have died. It’s funny how similar these two are to their parents. Their Anne’s anger which pops up in both Elizabeth and William. Their Henry’s lust for women, or in this case a particular woman, that can be seen in William. Their influence not only affects these two but because of their high rank it also trickles down to affect everyone.

The friendship between William, Elizabeth, Dominic and Minuette changes quiet a bit in this book as well. It is somewhat of a gradual change, though some things had started back in the first book and were only now truly getting in the way. I can also see a ripple effect starting to show up from some of the things that have occurred between these four and it will be interesting to see how those things affect events the next book and the lives of those they touch. On top of this there were some shocking new developments to be found in this book. Things that seemed to have been previously resolved now come back to rear their ugly head, friendship/relationships/alliances are pushed to their breaking point and some new issues have also cropped up.

While I enjoyed the book greatly I have to admit that the final few chapters really grabbed me and left me wondering for a little while just how things would turn out. There is a lot of unknowns still and it will take reading the final book in the trilogy to see how those turn out and how some of the events of this book will turn out. There is one in particular event that I am very keen on seeing come full circle. There is also a nice bit of action in this book, which is great because I love action, and I can certainly see more of this coming in the next book (or at least I hope there is more. But I must admit, its the political intrigues, the switching alliances, power struggles, and the battles that don’t involve a sword that really are what I love about historical fiction books.

The only problem I have, and this applies to many historical fiction novels not just this one, is that many characters have their given name and then their title. Sometimes they are referred to by their name and other times by their title so at times it can be difficult to remember who is who when so many different names are being thrown around and depending on the situation titles or name are used. I feel like I almost need a spreadsheet or index that lists everyone’s name and title that I can reference at a quick glance to make sure I know exactly who is talking to who at any given moment.

I would highly recommend this trilogy to anyone who loved historical fiction and for those who are looking for a great book to read. I cannot wait to read the final book and see just how everything that has happened so far plays a role in the end of this story. Will things work out for the four main characters or will things go horribly wrong? Only time will tell and I look forward to seeing it come to life in The Boleyn Reckoning.

Leave a Reply

