Top Ten Tuesday

top-ten-tuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is a meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. This week is the Top Authors I’ve Only Read One Book From But NEED to Read More.

Well there are a number of authors that I have only read one book from and though I have wanted to read more of their works I just haven’t gotten around to it yet…but I will, one day. So here they are in no particular order.

  1. Truman Capote. I just recently listened to Breakfast At Tiffany’s and it has spurred me to want to read more of his works, even though I’m not typically a fan of books that fall into the Classics category.
  2. Markus Zusak. I read The Book Thief a while back and absolutely loved it. I know he has a number of other books out there that I need to check out as well, I only worry that they won’t hold up to the high standard that he set with The Book Thief.
  3. David-Michael Harding. His book Cherokee Talisman was very good, I have two of his other books sitting on my Kindle but I just haven’t gotten to them yet, mostly because my Kindle is being a pain and not working 99% of the time.
  4. Chimamanda Ngozi Adiche. Okay, so technically I have read two of her books, but I have enjoyed them so much that I absolutely need to find and read the rest of her books. I have two of them ordered, just waiting for them to arrive so I can read them.
  5. Kathryn Stockett. Though she technically hasn’t written another book since publishing The Help, I know that if she did write another book in the future I would read it without hesitation. I truly hope she does write more in the future because she has a lot of talent.
  6. Mike Bond. I really enjoyed his novel The Last Savannah and have been telling myself to read more of his books but like everyone else on this list just haven’t gotten around to it yet.
  7. Michael Crichton. I had originally planned to read Jurassic Park many years ago, never got around to it so the first and only books of his that I have read so far was Next. While I didn’t really enjoy that book I still need to read more of his work, most specifically Jurassic Park. It’s on my shelf, just need to make time to read it.
  8. Diane Stterfield. Let’s ignore for a moment that Bellman & Black exists and that I read it, because it was terrible, and say that I had only read her book The Thirteenth Tale. In this alternate reality I would definitely want to read another one of her books (as long as it was not another disaster of Bellman & Black proportions).
  9. H. Beam Piper. I loved his book Little Fuzzy, and I would love to read more of his works in the future.
  10. Kendare Blake. Once again, I’ve technically read two of her books – the Anna series, but I have been really wanting to read more of her books since then. One of these days I will get around to doing just that.

So those are some of the authors I have only read one (or two) books but need to read more. What authors have you only read one book from but just have to read more?

8 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday

    • Love Adichie’s books, have read Half of A Yellow Sun and Purple Hibiscus, should be getting my copy of Americanah tomorrow in the mail and just ordered The Thing Around Your Neck yesterday. And yes that’s true, Stockett’s got a pretty high bar set for her to reach/surpass if/when she writes her next book. I hope she does because someone like her clearly has the talent to do it.
      Thanks for stopping by. Have a great reading week.

Leave a Reply

