Top Ten Tuesday

top-ten-tuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is a meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. This week is the Top Ten Books That Were Hard For Me To Read (because difficult of book, subject matter, because it was cringe-worthy– however you want to interpret)

I had way too much fun making this list, especially since I got to list (and admittedly bash) some books I would absolutely cringe-worthy. Honestly few books are truly “hard” for me to read when it comes to their subject matter or issues they cover. So here’s my list in no particular order.

  1. The Assassin’s Curse by Cassandra Rose Clark. While everyone was raving how fantastic this book was, I was thinking the whole world had gone crazy. This was the first book I actually wrote a completely sarcastic, long-winded review of that was over 5 pages long in Word, I simply felt that it was the only way I could express my dislike of this book. This one is very high on the cringe-worthy scale.
  2. Almost Every Book by Stephen King. He may be considered one of the best horror writers, but to me Stephen King simply pukes up obscene amount of boring drivel monthly/yearly and publishes it as his next best seller. These books are so hard to get through because of the terrible writing style and bored content that I have sworn to never read his books again.
  3. Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Mass. Though this one started off strong it quickly turned into a cringe-worthy book as all too typical YA plot devices were used – namely the love triangle crap. It took me almost two years to read this book because I had to stop reading it for a year and half because of how bad it was.
  4. Bullying Under Attack by John Meyer. This was one of those books that was truly fantastic, but it brought up a lot of bad memories for me having been through an excessive amount of bullying growing up. Everyone should read this book even if it may hit on the emotions more than a few times.
  5. Roll of the Die by Sean P. Bridges. Between the poor writing style, the unlikable characters and the obscene amount of swearing (which didn’t offend me but even so seemed far too overdone) this book was so hard to get through, even if it was relatively short.
  6. Jaws by Peter Benchley. I wasn’t expecting it to be great but my goodness for a “horror” book this one was a bloody bore to read and thus it was hard for me to get through it.
  7. Daughter of the Blood by Anne Bishop. This one came highly recommended from a friend but my goodness I couldn’t even finish it. Took me far too long to get maybe 100 pages in and there were so many obvious references in it that I just couldn’t bring myself to read beyond that. For example, of course there were these “devil-like” characters such as Saeten and Daemen, but you know they aren’t actually Satan, just devil creatures but not really devils. Ugh.
  8. The Troop by Nick Cutter. And another “horror” book makes the list. Once again it was the lack of horror and all around dull feel to this book that made it almost impossible for me to get through it and thus it was put on the list today.
  9. Bellman & Black by Diane Setterfield. The book that everyone who read and loved The Thirteenth Tale was looking forward to but man was it a huge flop. It was so hard to get through this one because nothing happened in the book, nothing!
  10. Albert of Adelaide by Howard Anderson. A book about a platypus and other Australian animals that act like humans. Yup, it was a recipe for disaster right from page one. Might have been better have the characters just been human from the get go…but then again it might still have been just as bad.

So there as certainly other books that could have made this list but I decided not to go beyond ten. What books were hard for you to read and why were they?

4 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday

    • Yeah it’s sad when such an amazing book is followed up by something like that. Hopefully any other book she writes in the future will be more like The Thirteenth Tale than Bellman & Black.
      Thanks for stopping by. Have a great reading week.

    • It really was boring. I also DNF it but forced myself to get to the end, which was an agonizing and long journey. Well I’m glad I made you laugh, was pretty much what I was going for when I put that bit in there.
      Thanks for stopping by. Have a great reading week.

Leave a Reply

