Book Review: Mercy

My rating: 3 out of 5 stars

The publisher provided me with a copy of this book to review via NetGalley.

This review contains mild spoilers.

Unlike a majority of her previous novels I found that I wasn’t instantly pulled in by the first chapter of Mercy. I hate comparing books to others, especially right off the bat, but this one felt so much less suspenseful than previous novels, both in this series and in other series. Usually by the end of the first chapter I am dying to find out who the mystery killer is and thus I’m eager to keep reading. However in the case of this book I was only mildly interested in continuing on with this book. Nonetheless I did stick with it to the end.

The book had a fairly decent pace. While I wasn’t particularly dying to see what would happen next I did find it okay enough that I kept reading. Though I will admit the book was one of those ones where I didn’t mind setting it down, but at the same time I was still able to pick it back up and continue reading on to see what lay ahead for all the characters.

Speaking of the characters I have to say I didn’t really like any of the three main characters in this novel. I’ll be honest, I didn’t like Laura one bit and wished she wasn’t even in the book for a large chunk of it. Of course once her little secret was finally revealed she became slightly more interesting but it wasn’t enough for me in the end. Rourke was a fairly okay character, though it took me a while to truly accept him and it took even longer for me to like him. By the end of the book I still wasn’t convinced he was the right man for the job, so to speak. Callie felt bland right from the get go. I don’t mind when a main character has a slow start to things, but even as things progressed she felt so lackluster to me I didn’t care what happened to her.

One thing I really didn’t like was the second sight angle that was put into the book. I felt as thought the author was just grabbing for new ideas to make things more intriguing, and hey it might have worked in another book or with different characters, but in this case it just added to the blah feeling I got while reading this book.

Now that being said the book did have some positives. As I said the pace was fairly good and while to took a bit for it to pick up I did find the last third of the book to be more desirable to read. I was glad to see the story focused on Callie, Rourke and Laura, even if they weren’t the best characters, instead of being bogged down by all the side stories of the other more minor characters. It has been something that has been an issue with this series in the last few books, where as much focus is put on the off-shooting side stories as there is on the main story line and I feel that doing that really takes away from the main plot arc of the books. But in this case those side stories were kept to a minimum and I was happy to see that. I just wish the main story had been a bit more appealing  characters and a quicker paced and interesting story line.

While this book isn’t what I have come to expect from this author, nor did it have a heavy suspense and romance vibe to it, I did enjoy it to a certain extent. Though I found it easy to set down I did keep picking it back up and it was a book that I read fairly quickly. The book was okay, heck it had potential to be a really great read, but it’s characters really were the downfall of this one. While I didn’t overly enjoy this book I am certain that there will be readers out there who enjoy it. Yes, I will read more books in this series as they come out but I honestly hope they are more like the first book in the series than the last few.

Leave a Reply

