Sci-Fi November 2014: Introduction

Welcome to Sci-Fi month! This month long event is the brain child of Rinn from Rinn Reads and now also co-hosted by Oh, The Books!. This is not only the second year that Sci-Fi month have been running but it is also the second time that I am participating in it. I have been looking forward to this for quite a few months now.

Let’s get started with a few questions and answers about me and my love of Sci-Fi.

Who am I and what am I doing here?

I’m Sarah and I run this little spec of the internet universe. Exploring All Genres was made to push my reading outside of my normal comfort zone, which consisted only of Sci-Fi and Fantasy for many years. The blog has been running for a bit over two years now and I hope to keep it going for many more years.

How long have I been a fan of Sci-Fi?

A bit over twenty years if memory serves me correctly. My love of Sci-Fi begin with watching Star Trek: The Next Generation with my dad. It was our little ritual and a way to spend time together just the two of us. Now I know I didn’t get to watch every episode, but I did watch a large majority of that series and have even begun to watch it again from the start, but it will certainly take me a while to get through it all. Over the years I have watched many Sci-Fi series and movies, and have seen my preferences change on what I like and don’t like within the genre. In the end though I still love Sci-Fi and will likely continue to be a huge fan of the genre for many years to come.

Do I have a place for all my Sci-Fi stuff?

Yes and no. Some of my Sci-Fi related stuff is strewn about the house in whatever nook and cranny I could fit it in. When it comes to my Star Wars stuff, I’d say 98% of it is safely packed away in boxes in our one storage areas of the house. I do have one small area dedicated to most of my Star Wars books as well as a few Star Wars items. This shelf contains about 140 of my approximately 150 Star Wars boxes and they are placed in chronological order – except for the hard covers since they don’t fit well on the shelf.

Do I have a favorite Star Wars item?

That’s a tough one. But I will narrow it down to two items. First up is the Darth Vader costume I made. It’s not the best looking thing ever but I am quite proud of it. I made it using old clothes, cardboard, paint and the one thing I did use that was premade was my Darth Vader voice changing helmet. Everything else I made myself. Sadly I don’t have a picture of this as it is buried among all my other Star Wars stuff. My second favorite item is the lightsaber hilt my brother-in-law made me out of pipe and other scrap items he had in his shed. One day I need to get him to make me another one, but I do love the one he made me.

If I could live in a Sci-Fi world which one would it be?

Hands down  I would want to live in that galaxy far, far away. Yes, that’s right, I would choose to live in the Star Wars universe. What planet would I live on? That’s a tougher decision to make and I’m not sure if I could pick just one. So I think I would pick a career that brought me to many different planets over my lifetime. I can’t say what that career would be, but I’ll admit, I would be opposed to being a Sith Lord. Yes, that’s right, I would be a Sith if possible. What can I say, I love villains. I would also requite a ship. And not just any ship, but something powerful and unique.

What do I have planned for scifi month?

A little bit of everything. There will be a few book and movie reviews. I will discuss various Sci-Fi games, movies and TV series. Of course there is plenty of Sci-Fi that I haven’t gotten around to experiencing yet, be it books, movies or other formats and so I will be talking about these and my hopes to one day read/watch/experience them.

4 thoughts on “Sci-Fi November 2014: Introduction

  1. Great post! That lightsaber hilt looks pretty good actually. Nice Star Wars shelf too. I think SciFi month will be a blast, looking forward to all the posts and seeing some great reviews and discussions.

    • Thanks. Yes, the lightsaber turned out pretty good considering it was made in a very short amount of time using scarps found in the shed. That shelf needs to be bigger, it no longer holds all my Star Wars books. I agree, Sci-Fi month is going to be so much fun, can’t wait to see all the posts everyone does for it.
      Thanks for stopping by. Have a great reading week.

Leave a Reply

