They Made It Into A Movie: Harry Potter And The Philosopher’s Stone

We all love our books, and there are times we wish they could come to life on the big screen. Sometimes our wish comes true and those beloved stories soon hit theaters. Yet as excited as we are for the movie version to come to be they are not always good experiences. Perhaps a character is portrayed incorrectly, important scenes are left out or changed completely, or that wonderful story has been reduced to something with no plot but amazing CG effects. And then there are times when the movie is absolutely stunning and you are left with such an amazing feeling after watching it. They Made It Into A Movie is a monthly feature, posted on the last Friday of each month, which explores one books and it’s movie adaptation counterpart.

How I First Encountered Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone

I missed the initial Harry Potter craze by a few years. In fact I didn’t really find out about it until after the first movie was made, and it was probably a year or so after that that I even watched the movie, and I only got around to reading the first book in the series this year.

The Book

Oh dear, what can I say about the book? I hated it. That’s what I can say about it.

I’m sorry to all those Harry Potter fans out there, but I found this book to be so boring. With each page I just wished that Harry would get killed in some horribly gruesome way. But obviously that would never happen because the series continues on for many more books.

I could say more about the book but I don’t feel like typing up all the reasons I didn’t like it. Needless to say I really don’t see me reading any others in the series.

The Movie

Well, the movie was okay. I have only seen it twice. The first time was a year or so after it came out, and it really didn’t appeal to me all that much then, but I could appreciate it for what it was. The second time was when I watched it this year to reacquaint myself with it after reading the book. Both times I thought it to be an okay movie, but really didn’t see the huge appeal to it, or why there was such an enormous fan base. I guess that could be blamed on being a few years too old when Harry Potter first came out.

There were some things I liked about the movie, and I can see how it may become more appealing with each movie in the series (I have only ever seen the first three movies, so can’t really say whether it does indeed get better or not). The acting was pretty good, the casting seems to be good as well. But once again I hated Harry’s character. Don’t know if it was the actor or just the role but boy does that kid get under my skin.

It’s a series of movies where I do not feel compelled to continue on with it.

How They Compare To Each Other

Well I have to say that the book and movie are pretty similar. There are obviously differences and changes but that is to be expected. The movie was certainly better in my opinion, but I can’t say that I was blown away by it, it just was simply more enjoyable than reading the story.

4 thoughts on “They Made It Into A Movie: Harry Potter And The Philosopher’s Stone

  1. I didn’t discover Harry Potter until later as well. But I loved the books and movies.

    So true about what you say though. I always get excited when a book is going to the big screen. I know it won’t be exactly like the movie, but that still gets in my head. So in the end, it’s never as good as what I dreamt up

Leave a Reply

