Book Review: Starfire

My rating: 4 out of 5 stars

I don’t often read middle grade books, but every now and then I’ll see one among my browsing and I will make the time to read it. Starfire was one of these books. I saw it randomly while looking at other books and of course the cover caught my eye. Guaranteed if a book has a horse or horse-like creature on the cover I will pick it up. After reading the description I figured it would be worthwhile reading, so it was added to my list of books to get one day and once I finally got a copy I was ready to read it.

I wasn’t entirely sure what to expect out of this book, after all I am a lot older than the target audience, but I dove in and gave it a try. The story had a good flow to it and I found myself easily breezing through the chapters. Not only did the pace keep my attention, but the mix of characters that were introduced as well as the storyline itself was certainly entertaining. I liked the different herds and how they varied in color that often matched with where they lived. Each herd also had different ways of thinking and living, and not just about what to do with the black foal but about other facets of life.

Star’s character certainly has a lot of growth throughout the book. He has some tough decisions to make and the path to get there is not easy. Morningleaf, who is Star’s best friend was a great counterbalance for Star. She could look past the colts faults and potential for disaster to see who he truly was underneath. Silvercloud, who is Morningleaf’s mother and Star’s adoptive mother, was the overall level-headed one in the book, which was a compliment to her mate, Thunderwing, more stern side. I could go on about the other characters in this book, but I won’t, they all have different aspects about them that added to the story and depending on who they were around they could bring peace or conflict.

Now one of the things I noticed in this book, both from reading it and looking at reviews, was the amount of violence. Now some people, the children reading this book and their parents, may have an issue with the violence, while others will be okay with it. If you do not want your child to be exposed to violence then I would recommend that they not read this book, as it contains bloody fights, bullying and all out war that results in many violent deaths.

Overall, I must say that this was a quick and enjoyable read. Obviously I would have enjoyed it more had I been younger but I can still see the appeal to this book. While this book may not be for everyone, mostly because of the violence, it does have some good lessons in it, especially when it comes to Star overcoming the bullying in his early life and proving to others he can bring good to the world when they all expect evil from him. I look forward to continuing on with this series and seeing where it leads Starfire and the other Pegasus.

Leave a Reply

