Top Ten Tuesday

top-ten-tuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is a meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. This week is the Top Ten Ten Books I’d Love to Read With My Book Club/If I Had A Book Club (or you could pick a specific kind of book club — like if you had a YA book club or an adult book club or a science fiction book club etc.).

So I’ve been a part of a book club for just over a year now, and while I enjoy it, I also hate it because we tend to read such horrible books. In fact the only two books we even discussed beyond simply saying “liked it” or “hated it” were the two I picked out. Those books were Half of a Yellow Sun and The Book Thief. Otherwise, we don’t even bother discussing the books we read, we basically just chat for an hour about random things. I really want us to read better books and actually discuss them as well. So here are a few books I would love them to read, in no particular order.

  1. Americanah and Purple Hibiscus by Chimamanda Ngozi Adiche. They enjoyed Half of a Yellow Sun, so I think they would like this one as well.
  2. Ghost Planet by Sharon Lynn Fisher. I know they have all claimed to not like SciFi, but I think they might like this one.
  3. The All-Girl’s Filling Stations Last Reunion by Fannie Flagg. Granted I haven’t read this one myself, but I think it would be good.
  4. Murder, She Wrote by Jessica Fletcher. This series is huge, but the books can be read in any order. Plus I know they all like murder mysteries, so these would be a safe bet. Plus they are very quick reads.
  5. The Boleyn King by Laura Andersen. I actually recommended this one to them not long ago and they all seemed interested in it, so I hope we read it.
  6. Daughter of Smoke & Bone by Laini Taylor. Okay they are not at all YA readers, hell their mostly a bunch of retirees (I’m the youngest member by easily 20 years), but there’s nothing wrong with widening ones reading to new genres, and they might like this one, who knows.
  7. The Last Savanna by Mike Bond. I think a few of them would enjoy this book.
  8. The Troop by Nick Cutter. Okay so this book I absolutely hated, but I think it would be funny to make them read it.
  9. The Dragons of Jupiter by Jacob Holo. Another SciFi book but they might appreciate it.
  10. The Last Unicorn by Peter S. Beagle. Because I told them all about getting to meet the author and they seemed kind of interested in it after that.

So there they are, the books I would like my book club to read.

8 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday

  1. Ugh, I absolutely hated The Troop too! In fact, I DNF’ed it halfway through. It felt like such a Stephen King rip-off. I’ve seen The Boleyn King around a few times and it looks really interesting. I’m definitely going to get it soon.

    Great list!

    • I agree, the novel felt way too Stephen King for me. Actually that’s why I hated it, because it was like reading a King novel – and I hate his writing a lot. I would definitely recommend reading The Boleyn King, the whole series actually, it was really good.
      Thanks for stopping by. Have a great reading week.

  2. This is a great list! It can be tough when a book group doesn’t talk about the assigned books more. Is it that the books are just not really discussion worthy or that everyone would rather talk about other things?

    I have both of Adiche’s books and would like to read them. I think they’d make great discussion books. I loved Half of a Yellow Sun. Daughter of Smoke & Bone is a book I have on my TBR pile. I’m really curious about that one.

    • Well we have read a lot of bad books, so that might be part of the reason why we don’t discuss them. But even when they really enjoy a book they don’t talk about it for more than a minute or so. I think they look at book club more as an excuse to get together and be social than an actual thing to talk about books.
      Purple Hibiscus wasn’t as good as Half of A Yellow Sun, but still a really good book. Hoping to read Americanah soon. Daughter of Smoke & Bone was really good, you should make time to read it.
      Thanks for stopping by. Have a great reading week.

Leave a Reply

