Top Ten Tuesday

top-ten-tuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is a meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. This week is the Top Ten Things I Like/Dislike When It Comes To Romances In Books (can do a full list or split it up in likes/dislikes or even things you want to see MORE of in romances in fiction).

Up until a few years ago I wouldn’t even touch anything labeled as romance because I thought it would be bad. I have recently been reading romance, but it is very hit or miss on whether I will like it or not. Sometimes it’s the characters or the storyline that makes me hate/love a book. Other things it’s those dreaded things that pop up in romance novels that make me instantly put the book down, or continue reading. So here is a list of the things I like and dislike when it comes to romance in books.

Dislikes:

  1. Instant Love. Seriously, how annoying is it to have the characters fall in love within the first few pages. I mean really, what’s the point of continuing to read on when that happens right off the bat.
  2. Love Triangles. I hate love triangles so much. I hate even more than nearly every YA book that deals with romance feels the need to do this. Authors need to realize this doesn’t work or appeal to readers, or at least me, 99% of the time.
  3. Babe/Baby. I cannot stand when a guy calls the girl baby or babe. Of course the same goes for the girl calling the guy this, but that doesn’t seem to happen as often. I actually recently put a romance book down because of that crap happening within the first couple of chapters.
  4. When there is no story outside of the romance. If all the book is is lovey dovey crap then count me out. I need an actual story to be happening that is the main focus and then for the romance to come along as a minor side story.
  5. Bad nicknames for anatomy. There’s nothing worse than reading a sex scene where they say stuff about staff, or lance, or canal, or crap like that. Especially when reading a book that’s classified only as romance. If you are reading this, you should be able to say stuff like penis and vagina without offending the readers, because that’s what they are called people!

Likes:

  1. Slow to grow love. This is how it should be. No instant love, no perfect relationship. They need to work at it, get to know one another, had some ups and downs and then after a long time admit their feelings.
  2. Western romances. Cowboys = romance = win in my book. Granted not every western romance book is good, but I especially like the older western romances.
  3. Romantic suspense. Murder and love in one book, sign me up! This is especially appealing when one or both of the intended lovers end up with their lives being threatened.
  4. Banter. I really like it when couples, especially in the earlier stages of the relationship, have entertaining banter going on between them. There are a few books where this was done exceptionally well and really added a new level of appeal to the story.
4 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday

  1. I forgot in my list how much I love cowboys/Western romances… but really I love the West in any book I read. I also love a slower-paced love story and good romantic banter!

Leave a Reply

