Book Review: Wanderlust

My rating: 4 out of 5 stars

After reading and enjoying the first book in this series, Grimspace, I was eager to continue on with the series. So I hurried up and got a copy of Wanderlust and ended up reading it a few weeks later. I have to say the book didn’t instantly pull me in. I don’t know if it was just the events in the beginning or that I had forgotten a few of the things that had happened in the previous novel and thus was playing catch up, but it just didn’t grab me in the way I expected it to.

It wasn’t until I was about half way through this book, or perhaps a bit further than that, that I started to enjoy it. The previous chapters felt like a lot of things were being set up that would play a role later in the book and possibly into the rest of the series. So up until the second half I kept finding myself putting the book down after a couple chapters and then almost begrudgingly picking it back up. I am glad that I stuck with it though, because it did get good in the end.

There was a lot of character development in this book, not just with Sirantha’s character but nearly every character in the book showed a lot of growing from where they had started off. There were quite a few nice plot twists along the way that helped to propel things forward, some of them I should have seen coming but totally didn’t. Those ones pleasantly surprised me. The romance aspect of this book was very small, but it fit perfectly with how things in the story was progressing.

While I wasn’t too sure about this book in the beginning the story did grow on me, and I especially liked the character development and the world building. Those who enjoy science fiction should like this book. I will be continuing on with this series to see just what lies next for Sirantha and company.

Leave a Reply

