Book Review: The Emperor

My rating: 4 out of 5 stars

The author provided with a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.

Going into The Emperor, I had a feeling something pretty big would happen, but I wasn’t quite sure what. There were all manner of possibilities that could happen and yet even trying to guess at what would occur was a big gamble. So I dove into the book eager to see what exactly would happen based upon on the previous books events ended.

If there was any book in this series that made me feel like I was in Kelsey’s shoes, this was the book. With the way events were unraveling, spiraling around each other, twisting and also repeating, it added so many new layers to the book that I wasn’t sure what was going on – but I liked it. Much like Kelsey, there were times when I was confused, was what I was reading actually happening, or was it a dream or possibly even a VR session? It was hard to tell, and even now I’m not sure if I have it all figured out or not, but I have to say it was really well done. I admit, it was a bit confusing to read at first, but after I was done with the book, and had gotten through all of the variations that were happening to Kelsey, I could only applaud Karen’s way of weaving together the story with so many elements.

There is a large unknown factor to this book, and now more than ever, I am eager to get to the next book, so that I can finally work out what was real, and what wasn’t, and find out what lies next for Kelsey, her family and Xander. Oh, and that twist at the end, oh yes, she did it again. I won’t say what it was, so as to not spoil the book for those who haven’t read it yet, but man oh man, that was a nice little bomb drop there.

This book was very well written, and the way the story weaved in and out, twisted about itself and then continued on really sets it apart from the others in this series. I would highly recommend this series, but you definitely need to start at the beginning. Now, I will sit here and eagerly await the next book.

Leave a Reply

