Book Review: Doubleblind

My rating: 4 out of 5 stars

I’ll admit I was a bit worried going into this book. I had really enjoyed the first book, Grimspace, but then found that the second book, Wanderlust, was a bit lackluster. However, I realized quite quickly that I had nothing to worry about. This book had all of the appeal of Grimspace and then some.

I really enjoyed the world building in this book. Getting to learn about the Ithtorians customs, seeing their planet Ithiss-Tor and how things are are build on their world. There is a lot of subtlety in their world and how things are run, including the way bows can be interpreted based upon arm and claw placement and how long the bow is held. Add to this their general distrust of humans and you have a winning combination right there.

I had thought that the multiple chapters dealing with the diplomatic portion of Sirantha’s trip there would be boring, but I was wrong, they kept me interested along the way. Possibly part of that was the divided front that she had to face while dealing with the Ithtorians, and another part has to do with Sirantha’s character as a whole.

As things progressed in the story my interest increased. The further in I got the less I wanted to put the book down, but sometimes life gets in the way of reading, so it took me a bit longer than I had expected to get through this book because of those outside factors. The pace of this book was really solid throughout. I cannot think of a single point where I lost interest, there was a couple of slower parts but it was not enough for my attention to wane.

I did find the ending a bit disappointing. It seemed to come on suddenly and didn’t really leave that big shock I was expecting to come, but that was pretty much the only negative thing I could find in this book.

Overall, I really enjoyed this book, it was everything I hoped for and perhaps a bit more. The pace, characters, world building and overall story arc kept me glued to the pages. I would definitely recommend this series to those who enjoy science fiction as I found it a great book all around but had a uniqueness to it not found in other science fiction novels. I will definitely be continuing on with the series to see where the events lead.

Leave a Reply

