Book Review: Wild Horses

My rating: 4 out of 5 star

The publishers provided me with a copy of this book to review via NetGalley.

Wild Horses in the first book in The Montana Hamiltons series, though it does tie into the Beartooth Montana series so you might want to read that one first. I honestly didn’t realize it was a new series right away, I just kind of assumed that it was a continuation of the Beartooth, Montana series, but I can certainly see why it is done as a separate series.

The first thing that stood out to me was that there is a pre-existing couple as the main characters. So instead of going through the whole first time meeting, then falling in love theme that most novels like this follow, this was actually a refreshing change. Of course, just because they are already a couple doesn’t mean everything is perfect in their world, which is pretty much the appeal of this book. Cooper and Livie were an interesting couple. They had a very rough road ahead of them, and despite all those bumps, they continued on together – for the most part.

The pace of the novel was very good. I cannot recall any slow points where my interest wavered. I did enjoy that a lot of the characters from the Beartooth, Montana series were mixed it. This gave a lot of familiarity to the store. There was also a solid flow to this story.

Really the only negative thing I can say about this book is that the mystery/suspense aspect seemed a bit on the weak side. That’s the real appeal to Daniels’ novels, is the deep seeded suspense that starts from page one and goes right up until almost the end. But in the case of Wild Horses, I just didn’t feel that strong suspense pull to this book. In fact, it almost felt a bit predictable and when the mystery ‘killer’ was revealed it wasn’t a surprise, as I had guessed that a long time before that point.

Overall, I enjoyed this book. It was a quick read that had a good story behind it. I would recommend this book to those who enjoy romantic suspense, even though this one lacked the suspense aspect. I will be continuing on with this series.

Leave a Reply

