Book Review: Heir To The Jedi

My rating: 2 out of 5 stars

The publisher provided me with a copy of this book to review via NetGalley.

First off, let me say that it always pains me to rate a Star Wars book so poorly. I had been so excited over this book. I had read the two previous novels in this trilogy, Razor’s Edge and Honor Among Thieves, and loved them. So of course I thought this book would be equal to those ones. I was wrong, horribly wrong.

One of the first things that stood out to me was that the book is written in first person, which seemed very odd to me since the other books in the trilogy are written in third person. Why, oh why would you change that? It doesn’t make any sense. Consistency of writing tense is very important when dealing with books in a series. Switching it part way through, or in this case at the end, is just annoying.

Then there was the poor story line. Instead of Heir To The Jedi this book should really be called Luke Skywalker: Errand Boy, because that’s pretty much what he does throughout the book. He runs errand for the Alliance. Granted some of them are more important than others, but it was kind of agonizing to read. And let’s not forget that moment when he suddenly things about the power converters that he never picked up at Tosche Station and wonders if they might still be there waiting for him.

This book reads almost like a fanfic, instead of an actual published novel. Of the characters that were introduced in this book, I found none of them to be interesting enough to make me care about who they were and what they were doing for or against the alliance.

In the end I was very disappointed in this book. I didn’t feel like I really learned anything new about Luke Skywalker or the Alliance (though let’s face it we all know how things works out in the end already). I’m sure somewhere out there a reader or two will enjoy this book, but I honestly wouldn’t recommend it.

Leave a Reply

