Book Review: The Hierophant

My rating: 3 out of 5 stars

So, I was really excited to get my hands on The Hierophant. The previous book, The Emperor, had left me excited and more than a little confused as to what was going on. But that confusion had been great, it gave me that connection with Kelsey, as I knew exactly what she was going through – since even she didn’t know what the hell was going on that that point. Was it real, was it a dream or VR? No one knew! That confusion stretched into The Hierophant. I kept reading and the further in I got the more confused I got. It should have been a good thing. I should have enjoyed my confusion like I had with The Emperor. But this time around I was just annoyed by it.

More than anything I wanted some answer. But things continued on as they had been and I still had no clue what was going on. Did I get the answers I was seeking? Maybe. But honestly I couldn’t tell you what the heck happened for sure in the book. I wanted to yell at Kesley to figure it out already and stop being so dumb. Don’t make bad choices Kelsey. I don’t know if they choices she made were bad or not, but given what happened, I’m going to say they might have been bad.

Now, that being said. I did like some aspects of the books. There were some twists along the way that really caught my attention, and while I don’t know whether they were real, dream or VR based, they certainly added some interest to the story. I am very curious as to how Kelsey is going to figure her way out of things.

While I didn’t enjoy this book as much as the others in the series I am still looking forward to the next book, The Lovers. I just hope that I get some more solid answers from it.

Leave a Reply

