Book Review: Lords of the Sith

My rating: 2.5 out of 5 stars

The publisher provided me with a copy of this book to review via NetGalley.

Well, what can I say about this book. I was a bit excited about it, but also quite hesitant. I had hoped it would be more on the appealing side, but sadly that was not the case. This is not the first book I have read by this author, however I did enjoy his other Star Wars book a lot more than this one. I made it about one or two chapters in before I remembered this book falls into the new canon Star Wars books, and it was hard to get into it after that. I love Star Wars, but I’m not entirely a fan of the new canon, in fact I’ve hated almost all of the books so far.

The writing style in this book was really the only saving grace, and even that wasn’t perfect. I thought that it lacked the flow that his other books have had. The characters also felt a bit flat. It took me quite a bit of time to slog through this book. I think my biggest issue with this, and nearly all the other books in the new canon, is that they seem to lack the action, good quality characters and writing, and most of all the feeling that you are reading something happening in the Star Wars universe. Perhaps the new canon will get better with time, but if this is what the books are going to be like, then I don’t know if I will keep reading them.

I’m sure that some people out there will enjoy this book, but I for one am disappointed in the lack of effort being put into these new canon books.

Leave a Reply

