Book Review: The Virgin’s Daughter

My Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

The publisher provided me with a copy of this book to review via NetGalley.

I had been looking forward to this book since I found out that Laura Andersen was writing another Tudor inspired series. Much like her previous series, I wasn’t entirely sure what to expect exactly, as this is a historical fiction with a major twist. Also, much like her previous series, I was not disappointed.

Right from page one I was drawn into this story. It does take a bit of time to really get things going, however, that beginning helps to built up the story line and ensure the readers know what is going on and who some of the main contributors to the story will be before really getting into it. Of course there are plenty of characters, that those who are familiar with the Tudors, will know, but there is also a good number of new characters that play both major and minor roles.

This is a book that is a bit hard to review for me, only because I don’t want to say anything that will spoil the previous series and this one as well. That being said, I highly recommend that anyone read The Boleyn Trilogy first as this new series is a continuation of that story.

I wish I could say more about this book, but like I said I don’t want to spoil anyone who hasn’t read the previous trilogy. I would highly recommend this book, and the previous trilogy, to anyone who enjoys historical fiction, especially when it comes with a nice twist as it doesn’t follow exact history. I greatly look forward to the next book in this series.

Leave a Reply

