Book Review: Lone Rider

My Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

The publisher provided me with a copy of this book to review via NetGalley.

When I first started Lone Rider I was fairly disappointed. I had expected the same gripping, suspense filled start to this book that I have come to expect from this authors books. Instead I found myself wondering where that part of the book had gone. Was there somehow a chapter missing? It actually made me put the book down for a while. When I did pick it back up I found that my attention wasn’t fully put into the story, I still felt a bit short changed from that bland beginning.

However, my opinion changed the further I got into the book. I’d say that it was around the middle of the book that I really got into it. The story seemed to be picking up, the characters were more interesting and soon I found myself enjoying the book

Much like the book itself, I didn’t care for either Bo or Jace as character at the beginning. I don’t know if this is because the story didn’t grab me from page one, or if they were the type of character that had to grow on you. Eventually I did find myself liking both characters. They had a few little quirks about them that seemed to work well with this book and added a nice depth to the characters themselves. There were lots of minor characters that got a good amount of page time as well, some were returning characters from the previous book and others were new. I do look forward to seeing what will happen with some of these characters as the story progresses.

By the end of the book I was devouring the pages as quickly as I could. I was satisfied with how things turned out in the end and look forward to seeing these characters in future books in this series.

If you are a fan of western romance novels, then this book, and the series, is for you. It might start a bit slow but it does steadily pick up the further into the book you get. Fans of B.J. Daniels other books are sure to enjoy this one. I am eagerly awaiting the next book in the series.

Leave a Reply

