Book Review: Lucky Shot

My rating: 3 out of 5 stars

The publisher provided me with a copy of this book to review via NetGalley.

This is the third book in the Montana Hamiltons series. Be sure to read them in order.

Lucky shot started off fairly solid. It doesn’t pack the strong suspense that I have come to love and expect from this authors books, but then again none of the previous novels in this series did either. Because of this, it took me a bit to get into the book, but once I got a few chapters in the story grew on me.

I quite liked Max’s character. He was determined, brave (and yet a bit foolish as well), and a fairly well rounded character. At first I wasn’t sure how well he would jive with Kat, but it certainly worked out in the end.

There were a few parts of this book that caught me off guard, and I had to go back to the previous book to double check I hadn’t missed something because what was happening in this book seemed to come out of no where. Apparently I had simply forgotten a few key points from the previous novels.

Those who enjoy romance novels that had a bit of mystery and suspense thrown in are bound to enjoy this series, however, I strongly suggest that you read the books in order, or else you will be horribly lost in the main mystery of the series.

Overall, I enjoyed this book. This is not my favorite series by this author, however, I do feel invested enough in the stories and characters to see it through to the end. Looking forward to the next one.

Leave a Reply

