Book Review: Star Wars Battlefront: Twilight Company

My rating: 3 out of 5 stars

The publisher provided me with a copy of this book to review via Net Galley.

Going into this book, I wasn’t sure what to expect. Sure it was Star Wars, and I do love Star Wars, but it is also a book based on a video game which is in turn based on the Star Wars universe. So could that truly be good? Perhaps it could, perhaps not. But there was only one way to find out, and that was to read this book.

Things started off interestingly enough. It didn’t quite dive right into the main story line, but provided a little tidbit of the past to one of the main characters, which in turn helped to set up his complete introduction and show why he is the way he is. The story did pick up a bit after this initial introduction and the fairly quite succession of battles scenes certainly helped to draw me in.

But that’s about where my interest stopped. During the battle scenes, some of which were admittedly too long and a bit on the ridiculous side, I was quite enjoying myself. It really gave a good perspective from the soldiers side of the galactic war that has encased the Star Wars universe. All too often the focus of the story is on the main players in the Star Wars universe, namely Han, Leia and Luke, which is totally fine in my opinion, but it was also nice to see a book that focused on all those characters that would normally be in the background of a story and only show up to deliver a few lines and then disappear.

The mix of characters in this book was fairly good. I did like Namir, the main character of this story. We get to see a decent chunk of his past but most of it focuses on the current events. However, I do have to say that the timeline jumping around every few chapters, along with those events switching planets, seemed a bit tedious to keep up with at times. I could have really skipped some of those time skip chapters.

This book read slow, like really slow at times, and I often found myself putting the book down and walking away for several hours because of that. I would eventually return to it, but it wasn’t with a lot of enthusiasm. I was waiting for something to big to really draw me back into the story, but that never happened. The book was okay, but it wasn’t good, not was it terrible.

I think the length of the this hurt it as well. I feel as though it could have been one hundred pages shorter and I would have enjoyed it just as much, if not more than what I did at it’s current length. While not the best book in the new Star Wars canon series, it does show some potential for the books getting better. Fans of the game, and the Star Wars movies are likely to enjoy this at varying levels.

Leave a Reply

