Top Ten Tuesday

top-ten-tuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is a meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. This week is a freebie topic. So after a lot of thought, I have decide to do the top ten books/series I am giving up on.

I know this is a bit of an odd topic, but bear with me. This year, I decided to go through my shelves and do a purge of them. In starting this I discovered many books that after months (or in some cases years) I have little to no interest in reading anymore. I fully intended to read them when I purchased them way back when, but now they are just taking up space on my shelf and bringing me no joy. So I figured I’d honor these books one last time by listing them here. So, without further ado, here are the top ten books/series I am giving up on.

  1. Gone With The Respiration series by Lia Habel. I don’t even remember why I bought these books, but I did, and now I just can’t see myself reading them.
  2. Silver Wolf, Black Falcon by Dennis McKiernan. I have owned this book for 15+ years, tried to read it once, hated it but didn’t want to give it up. So after sitting for this long not being touched for a second time it’s time to let it go.
  3. There Will Be Dragons by John Ringo. Same as above.
  4. Lord of The Rings by J.R.R. Tolkien. I’m sorry Tolkien fans, but I just can’t read these books. I even feel asleep during the movies I was that bored, so it’s time to remove these books from the shelf.
  5. The Grapes of Wrath by John Steinbeck. It’s a classic, and thus I have no idea why I bought it because I know I will never read it. Classics and me do no get along.
  6. Marley & Me by John Grogan. Bought it, then watched the movie, then decided there was no point to read the book. I know, the book will have so much more in it, but I just don’t want to read it.
  7. Relentless by Dean Koontz. I bought several of his novels and after reading a few of them I knew the rest were destined to collect dust. Time to cull them from the shelves.
  8. My Sister’s Keeper by Jodi Picoult. Bought this one on a whim but I just have no interest in it.
  9. Rhiannon’s Ride Trilogy by Kate Forsyth. This trilogy had sounded so interesting. I tried reading the first book a few times but just couldn’t get past the horrible dialogue of the characters.
  10. The Godfather’s Revenge by Mark Winegardner. Okay, so I kinda totally hated The Godfather, and sure this one is written by a different author, but I just can’t bring myself to read it.

So there you have it, the top ten books and series I am giving up on. There were so many others I could have put on this list, but I decided to simply list the ones that got pulled off my self first. Have you given up on any books or series lately?

7 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday

    • Ha ha, that’s hilarious. I totally won’t hate you for it. I know not everyone loves the sames books, and I am certain there are books that I love that many people totally hate. I’m okay with that. All that matters is our love of books.

Leave a Reply

