January 2016 Recap

monthrecap

With February here it’s time to take a moment and look back on all the reading that I did in the month of January. Being the beginning of the year, I really wanted to start off with reading quite a bit. While this certainly isn’t my heaviest reading month ever, I feel like I did very well this month, having read a total of seven books in January.

So what did I read in January?

  • Star Wars Battlefront Twilight Company by Alexander Freed
  • The Last Rhinos by Lawrence Anthony
  • Night Hawk by Lindsay McKenna
  • Star Wars: Before The Awakening by Greg Rucka
  • Reunion At Cardwell Ranch by B.J. Daniels
  • The Elephant Whisperer by Lawrence Anthony
  • The Curse of The Viking Grave by Farley Mowat

I enjoyed all of these books quite a bit. I hope that this amount of reading can continue throughout the year so that I can knock out a lot of books from my TBR this year.

On top of reading, I also did a lot of TV, Netflix and movie watching. One of the advantages of winter is that many of the shows that I watch have new episodes happening, though even then I don’t watch much TV. So every couple of days I sit down and clear out my PVR of those newest episodes. Shows I regularly watch are Alaska: The Last Frontier, Live Free Or Die, and Life Below Zero. I’ve also gotten into a couple of new shows, namely The Shannara Chronicles, which I’m an episode behind on at the moment.

Netflix allowed me to watch Wildlife Specials hosted by David Attenborough. I have always enjoyed all the documentaries that David Attenborough has done and this was the only one I hadn’t watched yet of those which are available on Netflix. I also finally got around to watching Beasts of No Nation. This was a interesting look into the wars and issues with child soldiers in Africa. If you haven’t seen this movie yet, then I would recommend watching it at some point.

Movie wise, I ended up watching the first Harry Potter movie and The Black Cauldron for our regular Saturday family movie night. We missed the first couple of Saturdays due to other things happening.

Overall, January was a fairly good month and I hope that this trend continues throughout the year.

2 thoughts on “January 2016 Recap

Leave a Reply

