Book Review: Child of A Dead God

My rating: 3 out of 5 stars

After reading the previous book in the series, Rebel Fay, I was very hesitant to read this book. Honestly, I hated Rebel Fay and I was worried this book, the final in the series, would be just as bad, if not worse. Luckily, that was not the case, and this book turned out to be as good as the other books in this series.

This book picks up right after the end of Rebel Fay, as Leesil, Magiere, Chap and Wynn continue on in their next leg of their journey. The purpose of their journey has changed from when they first left their home way back when, but now they work a bit better as a team. Which helps the story a lot. If they still bickered constantly I would probably have abandoned the book.

The characters haven’t changed all that much. Like I said, they work together better now. Oh sure, they still argue/disagree with each other from time to time, but that is to be expected, especially when they are put into dangerous situations that threaten some or all of their lives.

There were times when the story slogged by. And I will admit to skim reading these parts just to get past all the drudgery. Once I hit something that caught my interest again, I would slightly back read, to make sure I hadn’t missed anything important before moving on. However, these parts were few and far between so the story wasn’t too bogged down by them.

My faith in this series has been restored, and thanks to this book, I am once again considering reading the next series within the saga. This will happen sometime in the future. If you have read some of this series and are wondering whether to continue or not to the end, I would say this book makes it worth while slogging through Rebel Fay, as it does redeem itself.

Leave a Reply

