Top Ten Tuesday

top-ten-tuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is a meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. This week is the Ten Book I Enjoyed Recently (last year-ish) That Weren’t My Typical Genre/Type of Book (or that was out of your comfort zone).

Well, I don’t really have a comfort zone when it comes to reading anymore, thanks to forcing to read every genre through this blog. So, I will be instead listing the book I recently enjoyed that I thought I wouldn’t like as much as I did.

  1. Child of a Dead God by Barb & J.C. Hendee. I have a love/hate relationship with this series and I really thought I would hate this book, especially after the previous book, Rebel Fey. But this one was enjoyable and has helped to renew my love of the series.
  2. The All-Girl Filling Stations Last Reunion by Fannie Flagg. I wasn’t sure how I would like this book, it sounded interesting but I wasn’t sure it would hold up to my expectations. Luckily, I liked this book a lot and was glad I finally read it.
  3. Night Hawk by Lindsay McKenna. Another series I generally enjoy but occasionally find a book I don’t like in it. I was hesitant to read this one because of the previous book. Plus I’m still not sure how I feel about her trying to tie one of her other series into this one. But Night Hawk ended up being a really good read.
  4. Owl and the Japanese Circus by Kristi Charish. I was sent this one randomly by the publisher, but I was really hesitant to read it because I thought the premise sounded a bit silly. Boy was I wrong, I really enjoyed reading this book and the sequel.

That’s all I can come up with at this time. What books have you recently enjoyed that weren’t your typical genre? Or that you enjoyed more than you thought you would?

2 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday

Leave a Reply

