Book Review: Wonder Woman Earth One: Volume 1

My rating: 2 out of 5 stars

The publisher provided me with a copy to review via Net Galley.

This review does contain spoilers.

It has been some time since I have read, let alone reviewed, a graphic novel. So when I saw the chance to read and review the newest Wonder Woman graphic novel, I jumped at the chance. I have always enjoyed Wonder Woman, from the old 80s comic books, to the TV series staring Lynda Carter (yes, I watched a show made before I was born), to the 2009 cartoon movie, they all have a great quality about them. Naturally, I wanted to see what this newest version of Wonder Woman had in store.

This is a modernized retelling of Diana/Wonder Woman’s beginning, and I expected from this that some changes had to be made. However, I wasn’t expecting them to strip away the overall essence of Wonder Woman.

Though the art is good enough, I did find some of the panels to be completely ridiculous, especially those that depicted some of the characters in impossible poses. I get that comics often have things drawn inaccurately, because they want a certain pose to happen and it’s not possibly without bending the rules a bit, but they did bother me.

However, what bugged me the most was when Wonder Woman made her trip into “Man’s World”. Of course this was bound to happen at some point, as that’s where Wonder Woman truly tends to take off. Yet in this case, it was her reaction to woman that I found to be insulting. Yes, I expect someone who lived a sheltered life among only female warriors to view woman from man’s world differently, but to essentially see them as grotesque and deformed really irked me. It’s as though the writer wanted to insult woman, especially woman whose bodies aren’t perfect, and did so through Wonder Woman’s reaction. And let me just say, it takes a lot of offend me, but this did it.

Once this part happened I found it really hard to continue on with the book. I did, and it didn’t get much better. Honestly, I’m fine with the Amazon’s having lesbian relationships, it actually kind of makes sense in a way, I’m fine with updating Wonder Woman’s story a bit to better fit today’s readers, but I am not Diana’s view of the other woman. Sure, eventually she changes her mind, though not completely, but the damage was done.

I had hoped this would be the start of a new Wonder Woman series that I would enjoy, but I will not be reading the future books in this series. I’m sure there are people out there who will enjoy this, but I cannot.

Leave a Reply

