Top Ten Tuesday

top-ten-tuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is a meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. This week is the Ten Books Every Audio Book Lover Should Read Listen To.

For the longest time I thought audio books were silly. Why listen to a book when you can read it? Isn’t that the point of a book anyways, to read it? Well I have changed my opinion somewhat and now I enjoy the occasional audio book. In the end, it’s the narrator that makes or breaks these books for me. The books listed below not only have a great story line to them, but also have a wonderful narrator who brought the stories and characters alive. Here they are in no particular order.

  1. The Scorpio Races by Maggie Stiefvater. Narrated by Steve West & Fiona Hardingham.
  2. Childhood’s End by Arthur C. Clarke. Narrated by Eric Michael Summerer & Robert J. Sawyer.
  3. The Hollows Series by Kim Harrison. Narrated by Marguerite Gavin.
  4. Farewell, Dorothy Parker by Ellen Meister. Narrated by Angela Brazil.
  5. Lethal Circuit by Lars Guignard. Narrated by Ben Sullivan.
  6. Fuzzy Nation by John Scalzi. Narrated by Wil Wheaton.
  7. River Monsters by Jeremy Wade. Narrated by Jeremy Wade.

Didn’t quite make it to ten, but that’s because a lot of the other audio books that I have listened to are part of The Hollows series, and thus I didn’t want to list them individually. Are there audio books that you love and think should be on this list?

12 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday

    • I was pretty hesitant to get into audiobooks, but as soon as I found one with a good narrator it all just fell into place. Now I enjoy them, though still prefer actually reading a books than listening to it.

  1. Audiobooks are kind of my thing. And you’re right- the narrator makes or breaks a book- sometimes making a okay book into magic, and other times taking a book I would have liked better without the narration. I listen to audiobooks all the time- I have a long commute to work, plus I listen when I cook or clean, or walk or exercise.

    I definitely have favorite narrators- Khristine Hvam, Julia Whelan, Nick Poedhl, Will Patton, etc. I have a lot of favorite audiobooks- Jim Dale reading the Harry Potter books or his narration on my all time favorite book, The Night Circus, is spectacular. I love Hvam’s take on The Daughter of Smoke and Bones series.

    My absolute favorite author & narrator duo goes to Molly Harper (author) and Amanda Ronconi (narrator). Harper is hilarious, and Ronconi nails the characters.

    I could spend all day giving audiobook recommendations!

    My TTT

    • I really want to listen to The Daughter of Smoke & Bones audio books at some point. I’ll have to check out some of those audio books/narrators. I want to listen to more books, but it all boils down to how good the narrator is. If the sample doesn’t grab me than I go get the physical book instead.

Leave a Reply

