Book Review: The Thing Around Your Neck

 

My rating: 5 out of 5 stars

This is one of those books where I know I cannot do it justice through my review. I fell in love with the authors writing when I read Half of A Yellow Sun two years ago, and again I found myself sucked in by it while reading The Thing Around Your Neck. This book is composed of twelve short stories which are independent of each other, yet have this connection between them as well. A few character names are shared throughout many of them, ones mentioned once or two and no more until the next story, or one further into the book.

While I have never been much of a fan of short stories, I truly enjoyed this collection. One advantage of short stories is that you can read one or two at a time, and save the rest for later, and not worry about having to remember what happened previously before continuing. However, I had no intention of leaving any of these stories until I had read them all.

In these stories Adichie creates a wonderful mix of characters whose stories you fall in love with so quickly that the length of the story doesn’t play a huge role. Sure, I wouldn’t mind at all getting an expanded version of any of these stories. And yet they were complete in their current state, so I don’t truly need to know any more about them.

Whether you have read her other works on not, I highly recommend this book. It is a quick read that really sticks with you during and after your time with it. I look forward to more books from this author, as she has the way of weaving a tale so beautifully that it’s like you are watching the events unfold instead of reading about them.

Leave a Reply

