Book Review: The Dream Thieves

My rating: 4.5 out of 5 stars

Man, oh man, was this a great book. I didn’t really know what to expect out of this book, but what I got, I loved. The only problem is, I don’t think I can do this book justice in my review, but I will try.

So the group dynamic of Blue and the Raven Boys has changed a bit, due to what happened in the previous novel and the events found within this one. But it makes perfect sense. Considering all that they have and will be through, things are gonna change. Boundaries will be pushed, fights will happen and can and will become strained. Yet they still have each other and that is one of the most important things.

One thing that stood out to me was how different this book was to the first. The story had shifted away from the search from Glendower, and focuses more on Ronan and his abilities. We still get snippets of the search for the King, but it’s fairly minimal. There’s also a greater amount of paranormal vibes in this book. And not just when it comes to the dreams part, but but a lot of it is steeped in the paranormal. There is also a lot more action, which was kind of awesome.

Which brings me to the Grey Man. When he first appeared I was thinking, who is this man? What makes him important to the story? Why is he doing what he is doing? Who is his boss? And a million other questions. Most of which were answered throughout the book. But there are still unknowns about him, and I’m hoping the answers will come in the next book.

Now, there were a few times where I felt a bit lost in this book. I’m not sure if that was just a bit of clever writing done by the author to make me feel confused when there was no reason to be. Or perhaps I truly missed something among her writing that would have kept me on the right track. And it is this reason alone that I did not give the book a full five stars.

I don’t know how much more I can say about this book without giving away too many important details about it, and The Raven Boys. The ending though, man what a great way to bring the book to a close. It made me immediately wanted to pick up the next book.Overall, I really enjoyed this one, it wasn’t perfect but it was darn close, and I am looking forward to continuing the series and seeing just where it leads. Highly recommend these books.

Leave a Reply

