Armchair BEA 2016: Introduction

 

a2f89-armchairbealogoexample

Hey all. It’s time again for Armchair BEA. Don’t know what Armchair BEA is? Go check out the site for all the information and to see what blogs are participating.

Today’s first topic is all about introducing yourself. So I’ll go ahead introduce myself, my blog and then answer some of the questions to get started.

Hi, I’m Sarah and I’ve been blogging here at Exploring All Genres for almost four years now. This is the third year, I believe, that I have taken part in Armchair BEA and once again I’m looking forward to seeing what everyone is posting each day.

And now for the questions

What is your favorite genre and why?

I’m going to have to go with Fantasy. The reason being is that I just love the worlds, magic and everything that make the Fantasy genre what it is. While I do see a similar pattern is more Fantasy genre books, I still love the genre and am always looking forward to the next book or series to read within it. Heck, there was a time when I only read Fantasy, but now I have expanded my reading from that to all genres – hence the blog name.

Do you have a favorite book? If you cannot choose a favorite book of all time, pick your favorite book today – just this second. Remember that favorites are allowed to change if something affects you deeply enough.

This one was so tough to answer, because I have read so many great books and want to call each and every one of them my favorite. But in the end, I’m going to have to say that The Phantom Tollbooth by Norton Juster. I read this book back in Grade 8 and fell in love with it. I have lost track of the number of times I have read it and finally tracked down a copy to own about a year ago – it was an incredibly hard book to find. I love how it has so many English lessons within it, yet is such a fun story that you don’t realize you are learning while you read. I have started to read this along with my son and he is enjoying it so far.

How do you arrange your bookshelves? Is there a rhyme or reason? Or not at all?

If you had have asked me this question a few years ago, the answer would have been, not at all. I didn’t arrange my bookshelves in any way. If the book fit, it went on that shelf, if it didn’t it went elsewhere. LAtely I’ve been working more on arranging my bookshelves into something better than a state of organized chaos. Right now I have most books sorted by author, though not alphabetically or anything fancy like that, it’s just that I try to clump authors books together so I can keep better track of where they are and which ones I do and don’t own. Eventually, once I get better shelves, I plan on having it set up completely like this – or perhaps another way if it strikes my fancy at the time.

What book are you most excited for on your TBR? What are you most intimidated by?

I’m going to have to say that the books I’m most excited about are Star Wars: Bloodline by Claudia Gray and Illidan by William King. I just recently got both of these books and I can’t wait to read them. As for intimidating books, honestly, I don’t really have any books on my TBR that would call intimidating. If I’m that intimidated by a book, which rarely happens anyways, I wouldn’t add it to my TBR to begin with.

2 thoughts on “Armchair BEA 2016: Introduction

    • It is. At least up until you realize a certain book is missing and you go through all your shelves, can’t find it, start freaking out over it’s loss and then several days later find it safe and sound. Yup, that happened to me recently.

Leave a Reply

