Armchair BEA 2016:Aesthetic Concerns – Books & Blogs

a2f89-armchairbealogoexample

Hello and welcome to day two of Armchair BEA. Today is talking all about aesthetics and how they relate to the books we read and our blogs. So let’s get on to the questions for today.

The Books: How often do you judge a book by its cover? How often are you surprised by what you find? Do you strategize and make sure every book in your series has the same cover design (as far as you are able to) and type? How important is it for the visual art on the outside of the book to match or coordinate with the literature art on the inside?

I used to always judge a book by it’s cover. In fact, I had this system for picking out new books at the book store. I would first need to be drawn in my the cover art, then I would read the title. If those two things combined kept my attention then I would flip the book over and read the blurb. Should I still be interested in reading the book I would open it up to the first page and see how the book was written. If it was in third person, then I would buy it, if it was in first person it sadly went back on the shelf and I mourned the opportunity to read a probably good book. However, I have changed my ways, for the most part. I now give books written in first person a chance, and in doing so have found quite a few new authors and series to start and continue reading. Although I will admit, I do still judge a book by it’s cover about 95% of the time. The difference being is that I now no longer let that front picture sway my decision (there are a few exceptions to this, because if it has a truly hideous cover then I wouldn’t buy/read it).

When it comes to having the same cover and type of book in a series, I’m pretty flexible with this. I read a lot of older books, which means often buying them at a used book store and slowly getting an entire series over months, sometimes years, so I don’t care whether they have the same cover design or are all paperbacks or hardcovers. When it comes down to it, I’m just grateful to be able to find all the books in that particular series so that I can read them all. Sure it’s nice to have them all at least in the same size, be it paperback or hardcover, but if I tried to do that, it would take me forever to get them all. Now when it comes to new books, I do try to at least stick with the same print format, so if the first book I buy is hardcover, then I try to only buy hardcovers. But again, this isn’t a necessity, it’s just nice to have that size consistency on my shelves.

I do find it pretty important to have the cover art match the content of the book in some way. Whether it’s perfectly showing off what the main character looks like, or showing a scene from the books, that’s what really makes me appreciate good covers. But sadly that’s not the case with so many books I have found recently. Random covers that have nothing to do with the story itself has become a bit of a plague in my opinion.

The Blog: As a book blogger, in whatever form that takes, branding is important. Your colors, your fonts, your style of review, all of these things come together to make the “brand” of your blog – something that makes your reviews and posts and websites, all your various content, immediately recognizable to the people looking for you. What do you do to create a brand on your site? Do you think about these things?

I’m still working on making my “brand” on my blog. It is something I have given consideration to, but I haven’t come up with a solid enough idea for it yet. Plus I am pretty limited on what I can do with colors, fonts, themes, etc. since I am using a free WordPress blog. I have made changes, be it minor ones, to my blog over the years, but this is something that generally gets pushed to the back burner in favor for getting posts done.

4 thoughts on “Armchair BEA 2016:Aesthetic Concerns – Books & Blogs

Leave a Reply

